Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is my first time making apple pie and I tell you this is the best apple pie I have ever had. I think the filling would be good in a fried pie too. Its delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I used Cortland apples, and added Amaretto soaked raisins, and my pie was delicious. I think next time I will: use a more tart apple (as this recipe is quite sweet), cut the apples thicker, and move the pie from the bottom to the top rack for the last 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
First time I made it - today - I added extra flour like the others suggested, I used Pink Lady apples, and I left it in the oven for longer than instructed because my husband likes the apples very tender. He and my son loved it!! Thanks for sharing, it is definitely a keeper ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
this was absolutly the best apple pie i have ever made. this will replace my other staple pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made this pie today.....It turned out great. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 c. in the apples . I found that was sweet enough. that is the only change. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I would like to add my two cents to the making of this pie and hope the suggestions I offer will be helpful. As far as the "watery" aspect of the filling, I believe the type of apples that are used could be the issue. I always use a combo of Jonagold and Granny Smith. The texture remains firm and I don't ever have the watery problem some of the posters state. Also, I use a combo of brown and white sugars in the filling. It imparts a richer flavor to the filling. Now , as far as the crumb topping is concerned, it is definitely not enough for my taste---I like a pie with a thick crumb topping and what I do is I use one and one third cups flour,one tsp. cinnammon 1/4tsp nutmeg and 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar. Mix this with one stick of unsalted room temp. butter. I just use my hands to blend all the ingredients and you will have the best crumb topping ever! When the pie is cooled down, I sprinkle powdered sugar over the top. I have never had anything but raves for this pie and recipe. I hope all of you try it. Bake at 424 degrees for twenty minutes and lower to 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes. I also use this crumb topping on my blueberry pie as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Phenomenal. I didn't add walnuts or raisins but followed everything else exactly the way the recipe called for and I must say that this pie is the most delicious apple crumb I have ever tasted. This was my first time making it and I was told that it tasted better than other apple crumb pies that were baked by experts. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venus2477

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
followed the recipe, and it turned out really, really good. I would def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a wonderful Apple Crumb recipe...made 3 today via request from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is my first time ever making apple pie and after making this delicious, easy recipe, I will probably never make another version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States