Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Added walnuts, left out raisins as most don't like them here. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I loved the crumb topping, but the apples were dry and hard. I'd also recommend reducing the amount of apples to about 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coatesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Meeteetse, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Great pie!! So quick and easy, the only thing I did differently was use a vegan butter to make it a vegan apple pie. Everything about this pie is so right, quick, easy, and super delicious. love the crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I found this to be overly sweet, and therefore if i were to make it again then i would definitely cut down on the sugar. However I added the walnuts to the topping which gave it a great crunch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
My husband said this was perfect! I have tried several recipes but he loves this one. I did add carmel to it as he loves carmel in his apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
great! rave reviews from my family! i made 2...one exactly like this recipe and one with my own twist...the recipe pie was great everyone loved it with vanilla ice cream. I added pecans and crasins in the 2nd one and was told it was MUCH better than the first, the bitter pecans offset the sweetness of the pie...will DEFINATELY make this again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I canned my own apples this season, so I used two quarts of apples for a thicker filled pie. And since I canned Cortland apples which are already sweet I subbed the 3/4 C of white sugar with 1/4 C white and 1/4 C. brown. I also used 1 tsp. apple pie spice instead of nutmeg. I also tapped the apple spice bottle ten times into the topping before cutting in the butter. I like my pie spicy and this was so good!!! Rave reviews even from someone who doesn't care for pie but had a sweet tooth the night I made this!!! Thank you so much! This is def a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Almost as good as my mom used to make!! My wife loved it, and so did everyone else at Thanksgiving. Making it again for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
while this pie was delicious, the presentation was awful. didn't look appetizing at all. I doubled the crumb topping as per other users' suggestions, and I'm glad I did, otherwise there wouldn't have been enough, but still, it wasn't a pretty sight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was great, and I've been making apple pies for a long time. I took some others' suggestions to double the crumbs and use half brown & white sugar in and on the pie, and I added more seasoning as well. Omitted the raisins and put the nuts in the topping. Yum, this will be made again in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States