Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!! I was looking for a pie recipe with a crumble toping and came across this one. I thought it was the best apple pie I've ever had. I made two pies. I had read some of the comments about there not being enough crumble topping so I made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of topping and it was perfect for the 2 pies I made. I had also read that someone thought the pie was kind of soupy so I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the dry ingredients that get poured over the apples. This recipe is definitely going into my favorites and I thought it was so good that i'm making plates of pie to take to the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Love it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Love it! My first time making any apple pie and this recipe made me look like I have been making apple pies for years, the only thing I would do differently is double up on the crumb topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Delicious! I didn't add any optional stuff, and I didn't have nutmeg, so I doubled the cinnamon. Amazing, everyone loved it and the house smelled great. I also doubled the amount of crumb topping, as per previous comments, but I had tons left over, so I'm not entirely sure if it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I was comparing this recipe and another as I made my pie, so my review here is mostly for the filling. It's very good, but too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll cut the sugar to 1/2 cup (which is what the other recipe used). I did like that the topping used brown sugar; I used the 1/2 cup packed brown sugar with 3/4 cup flour and 5 tablespoons butter, plus a few sprinkles of nutmeg, allspice, and ground cloves as another reviewer recommended. I had slightly more topping than I needed, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I loved this -- so easy- so basic- fool proof. The type of apples really do make a difference- can be a wee bit runny---I tried a bit of a tart apple to help counter the sugar...--EITHER WAY-- still super Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
the first time i made it with the exact quanitities was too sweet for me but still really good so the next round i cut down the sugar to a little less than 1/2cup to mix with apples with a little more cinnamon and nutmeg and the topping about the same. it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly other than I made enough to make 2 pies and it turned out amazing! The only thing I changed on this is I doubled the crumb topping because this made enough for 2 pies.. I highly recommend this pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Added walnuts, left out raisins as most don't like them here. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States