Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very Easy and so tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsippany, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but the crumbs ended up pretty flat and powdery. I think next time I'll melt the butter rather than just cutting it in. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I used Winesap apples which have a great taste and, although they soften in cooking, they hold their shape and don't become mush; they're great for baking. I didn't use raisins or nuts (don't like raisins and have folks with nut allergies). I made a few alterations - doubled the cinnamon/nutmeg and increased the butter for the crumb topping to 5 Tblsp. Also, I mixed into the pie filling 2 Tblsp of instant tapioca, and let it stand for 15 mins before baking. I had no problems with the pie being watery/runny. Everyone was asking me for this recipe! Best apple pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I used a butter based pie crust made with gluten free flours. For the filing I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and increased the nutmeg and cinnamon amount, and added a tiny amount a ground ginger. I did the same for the toppping because I really like those flavors to be strong. Dark brown sugar worked great on top and I left it in my grandmother's oven to keep it warm after I baked it. I would highly suggest serving it warm like that with some vanilla ice cream. It was really yummy and has the classic apple pie flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this recipe tonight. I typically use jonathon's in my apple pie but I was looking for something different. After reading many of the reviews, I used 3 Jonagold's and 3 granny smith's. Excellent choice! I also increased the flour from 2 TBSP to 4 TBSP so that it wouldn't be too runny and it turned out perfectly. Probably the only thing was that my topping looked a little sloppy and not great for presentation (not sure if I did something wrong or maybe this is how everyone's looks)....but boy did the whole thing taste good!!! Really good! We LOVED it! And I did use the raisins and walnuts. Added great flavor and texture. This recipe is a keeper! And thank you to the other people who shared their helpful reviews and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this recipe all the time because it is soooo good! It even won an award at church!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eM_Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
wow! i really loved this pie. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bratislava, Bratislavský Kraj, Slovakia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Oooh, seriously good pie! My trick for really good apple pie (whichever recipe I use) is to mix up the apples in the filling. I use at least two, usually three, different types of apples in the pie. (Granny smith, macintosh, rome, gala, etc.) Don't be afraid to experiment with your apple selection. I have had great success with almost all apples that have even a hint of tart to them. I kept pretty close to the actual recipe with three exceptions... I never use lemon juice on my apples (I just don't like the underlying taste of it in my pies), I did make a bit more topping, and I always use corn starch, not flour to thicken my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARINA25
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Amazing apple crumb pie. I added the walnuts to the crust and let it sit for a half hour before cutting it. Not runny at all and the walnuts in the crust were fantastic! No raisins. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This recipe was wonderful!! I was looking for a pie recipe with a crumble toping and came across this one. I thought it was the best apple pie I've ever had. I made two pies. I had read some of the comments about there not being enough crumble topping so I made 1 and a 1/2 recipes of topping and it was perfect for the 2 pies I made. I had also read that someone thought the pie was kind of soupy so I added an extra tablespoon of flour to the dry ingredients that get poured over the apples. This recipe is definitely going into my favorites and I thought it was so good that i'm making plates of pie to take to the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States