Apple Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The pie wasn't bad. I read the reviews and took the advice of others that I should double the crumb topping, I wish I wouldn't have. I used red apples so I cut back on the sugar but it was still too sweet (even when you scrapped most of the crumb topping off. I also think this pie would be better using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar or all brown. You will also need to add an additional 5-10 minutes of cooking time. Like many others have stated the pie will be somewhat watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was the first pie I've ever made and it was delicious. My husband said it was the best pie he's ever had, even brought slices to work for his co-workers. I used gala apples, which I peeled before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
tasted good but the topping didn't turn out crumbly, it was gooey and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this twice and the filling part gave me no problem! It tasted amazing and would recommend this recipe to anyone! I used a pie crust for the bottom and added a little extra cinnamon for my taste. My problem is I can't get the 'crumble' to do right at all! The first time was my mistake because all I had on hand was Country crock spread and not butter. The second time was A LITTLE better, and I mean that lightly, because I used stick butter straight from the fridge but the crumb topping still came out soggy? HELP!!! Suggestions please?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The pie is excellent, but the topping makes too hard a shell. It makes it difficult to cut the pie. I will make it again, but use oatmeal in the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It is a great pie and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used a graham cracker crust, and for the top crumb, I used 4 brown sugar pop tarts crumbled. It is perfect!! Husband was never the wiser. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I love this! I just made it tonight, and it is awesome! I made it just like the recipe, but used pecans instead of walnuts. And I doubled the topping. It is delish! Not juicy what so ever. Definitely will be making this for the holidays! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was our first try at apple pie! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Torres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States