Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
No two ways about it - this was beyond excellent for a simple apple crisp, in spite of the fact that the topping had oatmeal in it, which I generally don't like (but Hubs does, which is why I made this in the first place). Everything in this recipe was spot on; perfectly spiced and sweetened, an ideal ratio of topping to apples, and a topping so crunchy the person next to you can HEAR it when you chew! This was quite a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I used Granny Smith apples in this apple crisp recipe. I actually made this apple crisp in my cast iron skillet instead of a 9-inch square baking dish. While the oven was preheating, I melted a few tablespoons of butter in the skillet, then layered the apple mixture over the melted butter, then sprinkled the topping over the apple mixture. My apple crisp looked like something you'd see on the cover of a fancy magazine and the flavor took me back to when I was little and eating my Grandma's apple crisp. VERY good and for me, very soul-soothing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Tried this tonight & it was really good! I am a novice & I was able to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My husband told me to toss all other apple crisp recipes - this was truly the best. Minor modifications: added an extra teaspoon of both cinnamon and sugar to apples along with some lemon juice and 2TBS of flour. To the topping only used 3/4 brown sugar, any more would have been too much and we like things sweet. Cooking time took 50 minutes and since I kept the apples on the chunky side, I didn't have to worry about them being mushing. Served with a drizzle of caramel sauce toped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
When working with fresh fruit you often find that the most simple of recipes really highlight the fruit's flavor. This recipe does just that. I did add two more ingredients and changed the method a bit but I tried to stay true to the recipe and I wasn't disappointed. I started by choosing six different types of baking apples. A combination of apples gives you lots of flavor and textures. I peeled, cored and chopped the apples and tossed them with the sugar and cinnamon. Because many of the apples I chose have high water contents I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of dry minute tapioca. Even if you don't care for tapioca you wouldn't even know it was in there. It thickens up the apple's juices and ensures no soggy apple mess. I also added some fresh ground nutmeg. Only because I love nutmeg and apples. For the crunch topping I changed the method. I really enjoy a crunchy top that isn't sandy so I used softened butter rather than melted butter. I started by mixing the dry ingredients and then used my hands to work the butter into it. The end result is a beautiful pea shaped crumb topping. Then I baked as directed. It really is a fantastic recipe and one I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent....my family and company loved it....I used Jona Gold, Crimson Crisp and Fuji apples picked from the local orchard. I also doubled the apples and kept the topping measurments the same. This loaded up a 9x13 pan. Served warm with vanilla bean ice cream. Just amazing...loved the crunch in the topping from the oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This an excellent recipe. No frills, the taste of the apples comes thru nicely and there is a good balance of topping and fruit. I did have to bake it for about an hour. It may be my oven which is gas and I am not use to it yet. If your fruit does not hold together as you would like, just add one tablespoon of cornstarch to the sugar and cinnamon before you mix it with the apples. I also like nutmeg and a few grates of whole nutmeg in the apples and the crust adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I added 1/4 teaspoon allspice and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg to the apple mix before topping it with the oat mix. I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla to the oatmeal mix. Also, the topping really does stay crispy, unlike many apple crisp recipes. Just a quick tip, I mixed all of the dry ingredients in a food processor and that significantly reduced the mixing time. Put the oatmeal in last so that it does not get too chopped up. I also believe that the brown sugar could be reduced from 1 cup to 3/4 cup and the butter from 8 tablespoons to 6 tablespoons just to make it a little lighter. We got 8 servings out of this rather than 4. I highly recommend this recipe with or without my modifications! This is the tastiest apple crisp I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was so dry. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Excellent! Added half cup chopped walnuts to topping. Vanilla bean ice cream with very small amount of caramel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States