Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Doubled recipe, 9 x 13 pan, 45 - 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Perfect!!! My husband told me to cover it with foil "because that's how mom did it". Well don't do that because it won't brown. It was awesome and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I added 1/4 teaspoon allspice and 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg to the apple mix before topping it with the oat mix. I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla to the oatmeal mix. Also, the topping really does stay crispy, unlike many apple crisp recipes. Just a quick tip, I mixed all of the dry ingredients in a food processor and that significantly reduced the mixing time. Put the oatmeal in last so that it does not get too chopped up. I also believe that the brown sugar could be reduced from 1 cup to 3/4 cup and the butter from 8 tablespoons to 6 tablespoons just to make it a little lighter. We got 8 servings out of this rather than 4. I highly recommend this recipe with or without my modifications! This is the tastiest apple crisp I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I had 3 apples sitting around that nobody was eating & then I stumbled across this recipe so I made it! I cut the recipe in 1/2 & made it without any changes. It was delicious (especially while it was warm)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made it according to the directions and it came out a little dry on the top and not a lot of oats mixed in. It may have been my fault though so I will be fair as the family enjoyed it warm with ice cream and I didn't hear too many complaints. Will attempt to make it again soon and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Will make again for sure, turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The topping is excellent and stayed crunchy for even the 2nd day. I just used home canned pear pie filling for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it for the in-laws, it was super good. Next time I might add walnuts to the topping but I love walnuts in just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made it with gluten free flour!! Added a touch of lemon juice and a tbsp of flour to apples and half the butter to the crumb!!! loved it!! So easy. I'm making this for thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made this exactly as directed and it was a big hit. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States