Apple Crisp with Oat Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was much too sweet even with reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup, and the topping about double what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Excellent! The only thing I would change when making it again (which I will, vety tasty) is cut back on the brown sugar. It was a little heavy on the sugar....desguised the natural flavor of the apples. Still a wonderful basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Johnathon apples and sprinkled a little extra white sugar and cinnamon over the apples and dotted them with butter before covering them with the oat topping. I melted the butter and crumbled it over the apples. It was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Valley, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
It is way too sweet. If I made it again I'd cut the brown sugar down to half cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue Pratt
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I added half cinnamon & half nutmeg to the apples! Just as good as Apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
For years I've been looking for an apple crisp recipe that actually gets crisp on top. This is it! The oats really make the difference. Even my husband commented on the topping being crunchy. Next time I'll cut down on the sugar a little because my apples were quite sweet. Otherwise it's perfect and so delicious warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe. I was feeling a little lazy, so I melted the butter instead of cutting it into the dry ingredients and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Excellent! I now use this for my apple pie recipe. Just added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 2 Tbsp tapioca. Best crumb topping recipe by far!! Look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great flavor. We made it using some apples from our tree. I added walnuts chopped then just crumbled on top before placing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The topping is awesome, but the filling needs tweaking. There needs to be a thickening agent like flour or cornstarch otherwise it's way to watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States