Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never given a one star review before...but this one gets my first ever, with no hesitation! I liked the combination of apples and cranberry, but the "crisp" topping was dry and tasted exactly like cardboard. Gross. I threw out all the leftovers...and there were a lot! It was a VERY dissappointing finale to an otherwise spectacular Thanksgiving meal. I could see all my guests were being polite and choking it down. I finally mumbled something about the topping being dry and tasteless, and no-one said anything..they all just stared politely into their bowls. I'll go back to may old tried and true crisp topping recipe. To all of you who want to try this recipe - pick a crisp topping from another recipe on this site. The one on the Maple Apple Crisp (by Crystal) is VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was delicious. I used Cranberry Sauce I from this website. I do recommend using Granny Smith apples, as the recipe calls for. I tossed in a couple of "unknown" apple varieties, along with a Granny Smith, but missed the firmness and tanginess of the GS. The topping was superb. Be sure to use whole wheat PASTRY flour, and not just plain ww flour! Thanks, Dishy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but I pretty much like anything with cranberry sauce in it. Although I can't resist commenting on some of the former reivews. Doesn't it make sense to try out a recipe first before making it for holiday dinners, birthday parties, etc??? If you don't like a recipe fine, but don't make an untested recipe for a big dinner and then be embarrassed when no one, not even you, likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was really tasty! I added 1/4 c. sugar to the apples and next time I would add a bit of flour to thicken the juices. I just felt it needed a little extra sugar to please my sweet tooth. I used 1 can of Ocean Spray whole berry cranberry sauce and it was just the right amount. I didn't have whole wheat flour so substituted A.P. and the topping was delicious! Thanks for a great, easy fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is a great way to use up left over cranberry. I like to mix the apples and cranberry together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The negative reviews almost scared me away from this healthy recipe, but thank goodness I didn't listen to the naysayers. I've tried all of this cooks's other recipes, and they are fabulous, so of course i had to try it, and i am soooo happy i did. It was delicious and the whole family ate it up. I made it precisely according to directions and didn't change a thing...except for topping it with whipped cream, of course. There is such a thing as TOO healthy, i believe. Thanks, What a Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I used cherry pie filling instead of cranberries and regular all purpose flour. Turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe two weeks ago and it has one of the best crisps I've ever tasted. Usually I can't stand the brick hard crisps and this was no way near that. It was moist and very tastey. I'm going to make if for our friends for this t-day. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
What a Dish! you are right on with this recipe. I loved it and it is so flexible. I found the topping to be fabulous (Evie read the ingredients ~ NOT whole wheat flour, whole wheat PASTRY flour ~ that could why yours was not good). I used a big round stoneware dish which was a little bigger than an 8 or nine inch square baking dish because I had about 8 granny smith apples that I wanted to use up. I had two different cranberry sauce leftovers ~ one sweet and one tart with some pineapple in it ~ threw both of them in there and stirred them with the apples ~ added about 1/4 extra cup of oatmeal into the topping mixture since my dish was bigger. Cooked for 50 minutes. Fantastic!!! I would say that any negative reviews on this recipe would be the result of operator error ~ not the fault of the recipe ~ a great and flexible recipe ~ will be my go to recipe now for the topping on any kind of fruit crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Can I say YUM!!! I make my own cranberry sauce and this was the perfect way to use up the leftovers. Hubby and I ate it as Thanksgiving dessert and as breakfast the next morning (oops, all gone!). We both LOVED it and this will become our standard Thanksgiving dessert from now on. Not only is it delicious, it's super easy! I used regular white flour for the topping. There are very few ingredients in this recipe, but don't let that fool you - it's packed full of flavor and even better topped with vanilla bean icecream! I don't understand the reviewer who said her topping tasted like cardboard and nobody ate it. I don't know WHAT she put in it, but the topping is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States