Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but I pretty much like anything with cranberry sauce in it. Although I can't resist commenting on some of the former reivews. Doesn't it make sense to try out a recipe first before making it for holiday dinners, birthday parties, etc??? If you don't like a recipe fine, but don't make an untested recipe for a big dinner and then be embarrassed when no one, not even you, likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wow! Enough to inspire me to cook more deserts! I used A.P. flour instead of what was suggested, and I also used the "Cranberry, apricot, raisins sauce" (also in allrecipes.com) for cranberry sauce. Really really good, tangy, and sweet. Good crust too. Had it with vanilly ice cream. Yum! Bf loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I love this recipe! I like the tartness of the granny smith apples and I mix the apples and cranberry sauce together instead of one on top of the other. I use 1/2 oil and 1/2 apple sauce for the crisp topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The negative reviews almost scared me away from this healthy recipe, but thank goodness I didn't listen to the naysayers. I've tried all of this cooks's other recipes, and they are fabulous, so of course i had to try it, and i am soooo happy i did. It was delicious and the whole family ate it up. I made it precisely according to directions and didn't change a thing...except for topping it with whipped cream, of course. There is such a thing as TOO healthy, i believe. Thanks, What a Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I thought this was going to be a great dish, however it was very soupy. The idea was great as a new combination of fruits that I had not thought of, but I was disappointed with the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This turned out great - my family enjoyed it thoroughly. I'm wondering where in the recipe it indicates where to add the brown sugar? I added it to the crisp ingredients as it seemed the cranberry sauce would be sweet enough to flavor the apples. It turned out fine, but I'm wondering what others did with the brown sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe two weeks ago and it has one of the best crisps I've ever tasted. Usually I can't stand the brick hard crisps and this was no way near that. It was moist and very tastey. I'm going to make if for our friends for this t-day. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Absolutely delish! We *loved* the topping--it was crispy and crunchy, and the dish was just sweet enough ... we had it warm out of the oven with vanilla ice cream ... oh, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have any cranberry so I used Dole frozen mixed berries thawed. I only used half a cup of oats and added a half a cup of granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I used cherry pie filling instead of cranberries and regular all purpose flour. Turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States