Apple Crisp with Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe turned out quite tasty. I followed the user comment suggestions and used AP flour instead of the whole wheat pastry flour. Others had mentioned that this dish tended to get too juicy, so I tossed a little flour into the cranberry/apple mix. Overall, this was a simple dessert that was easy to make - Homey and tasty, but not going to "wow" anyone either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Based on Evie's review, I used the Maple Apple Crisp topping (by Crystal) instead of the one in this recipe, and it was great. I made this recipe as a way to use up a big container of leftover fresh cranberry relish I had made for Thanksgiving (pulsed cranberries, sugar, triple sec, and orange juice and zest). It was great. A very nice balance of zesty vs. sweet. Careful not cutting the apples too thin-- mine ended up kind of like applesauce. Still tasted good, but I would have liked a little more texture to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
What a Dish! you are right on with this recipe. I loved it and it is so flexible. I found the topping to be fabulous (Evie read the ingredients ~ NOT whole wheat flour, whole wheat PASTRY flour ~ that could why yours was not good). I used a big round stoneware dish which was a little bigger than an 8 or nine inch square baking dish because I had about 8 granny smith apples that I wanted to use up. I had two different cranberry sauce leftovers ~ one sweet and one tart with some pineapple in it ~ threw both of them in there and stirred them with the apples ~ added about 1/4 extra cup of oatmeal into the topping mixture since my dish was bigger. Cooked for 50 minutes. Fantastic!!! I would say that any negative reviews on this recipe would be the result of operator error ~ not the fault of the recipe ~ a great and flexible recipe ~ will be my go to recipe now for the topping on any kind of fruit crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is especially yummy if you take the refrigerator sugar cookie dough that comes in a roll and slice it like if you were making cookies but instead place over the apple/cranberry mixture. I also add nuts to the apple mixture. Easy and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Not a favorite with us but a good recipe. Others at Thanksgiving enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
i was looking for someway to use and not waste my whole cranberry sauce. I changed a few things but i agree with the crispness of a granny smith and I also used my own crumb topping. but good basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great everyone loved it, and it was so easy to make, it will be at the top of my list for Desserts. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New City, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Healthy and delicious! This will become a holiday staple in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was yummy. A little sweet for the topping but still perfect for that sweet tooth. The blend of the cranberries with the apples is deliciously sweet and tart, topping off with whipped cream. I liked this cold as well as warm. When it is cold it is firm and has a good flavor.This is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States