Apple Crisp V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The quantities seemed odd to me, so I used my judgement and cut back the number of apples and amount of apple sauce so I could bake it in a 9x9 pan. I also added a cup of oatmeal to the topping and a handful of dry cranberries to the apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Should have read reviews first, knew the butter should not have been melted, did it anyway, not crispy like I wanted it, very dissapointed, was tasty, however, won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Don't melt the butter! Melting the butter creates a paste, not crumbs. I used the topping without the rest of the recipe since the topping was the most like my mom's recipe that I could find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
this is a really easy recipe to make. it is different from any thing i have done. i think the 18 apples is a misprint though. i doubled the recipe and used only a dozen apples and it filled the pan right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
very tasty, i did add oatmeal to this (about 1 C) and sometimes i will add walnuts too. easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My family and I enjoyed this moist dessert. I did, however, add oats to the crust mix. My son has requested more oats next time, too. I'll make this again--most likely tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
i wouldn't make the top the same way. I'd suggest cutting the butter into the top stuff, I like a crumb topping, not a sugar layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Loved the applesauce idea. seemed like too many apples for the amount of filling and topping. Didn't get a crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States