Apple Crisp IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Absolutely the best crisp I've ever made. I used about ten medium Cortland apples, which are kind of tart, I added a tsp of vanilla, and I made one and half times the amounts for the crisp part. It totally filled a Pampered Chef 9x13 stoneware dish. This recipe was just wonderful. I served it to company who couldn't get enough, I shared with neighbors who raved, and my family ate it for dessert a couple of nights in a row. Just lucious!! Try this one - you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
613 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Bingo! This recipe works. OK, it’s roughhewn enough for we guys to take a hack at it, here are some guy tricks to cover a variety of Macho Mistakes. You forgot to set out the butter for 10 minutes so it can soften? Recovery: Place the BIG mixing bowl on the stove over the oven that’s heating. That will soften the butter as you mix. Get the BIGGIST whisk you have and use it to knock the chunks of butter down to pea sized bits. Stop mixing at this point. DO NOT pre-melt the butter. DO NOT whisk the butter until you have a smooth mixture. This stops the crisp and makes dough. Recovery: If you do the dough thing, serve with bigger glasses of milk OR use more cream on the dish. HINT: If you serve the dish warm, then put the cream you’re going to pour on it in the microwave on 40% power for 1 minute to knock off the chill. DO NOT boil the cream. More HINTS: (1) Cut slices no finer than about 1/4” thick; it helps them to retain “apple-ness”. (2) After you put the bottom layer of crisp in the baking dish and pour in the apples, PRESS the apples down into the crisp and then press the top layer of crisp dough down into the apples as well. DO NOT crush the apples. The apples will flavor the dough a bit, and there’ll be a better crisp to apple slice ratio as well. (3) DO hold about a ¼ cup of the sugar to pour directly on the apple slices in a bowl and then mix well. (4) DO NOT bake till crust is brown. STOP when apples are tender. Manly Kitchen Mess Rating: No better than 2 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I used 1 1/2 cups of flour, 3 quarts of Gala apples and tossed the apples with a sugar and cinnamon mix. Very good recipe! Also learned to slice the apples not so thin otherwise they become to tender and mushy. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Being a novice cook/baker, I followed this recipe to a "T". Well, the other reviewers are right...it definitely needs less flour, and it could be a little sweeter. Needs more apples, too. I think this recipe could be a 5 star with a little tweaking. Follow the advice of the other reviewers; they're right! Less flour, more apples. It was good, but I definitely wouldn't say it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
SOOOOOOO GOOD! I used 11 med apples (a combo of Macintosh, golden, empire & granny), and 1 1/2c flour. I added chopped pecans to the topping. Everyone at work loved it! I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. I won't bother ever using another recipe. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have a good stand-by recipe for apple crisp but wanted to try something new. This turned out to be a delicious alternative! I did make some adjustments: I used 4 medium-sized apples (with a little lemon juice, vanilla, cinnamon, and brown sugar tossed in) and a bag of frozen mixed berries. I used 1 1/3 cups of flour and 2 1/3 cups of oats, as another reviewer suggested. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
It was the crunchiness I was looking for, and the subtle sweetness that apple crisp should have! I scaled it down to only 6 servings, and it was still wonderful. It was so easy too! Between the amazing taste and ease of this apple crisp, I'll never try another recipe. I've found my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this dish to take to potluck at church and everybody loved it and it was not dry. When I was making it, I thought the recipe had said 1 1/2 sticks of butter, but it says 1 1/2 cups of butter. Maybe others who said it was too dry misread the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Fabulous! I have had people tell me that this is the best apple crisp they ever ate! I love to make it is huge batches, because it never lasts very long around here no matter how much I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This was absolutely terrible. I will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 810) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States