Apple Crisp IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I only gave it four stars because I didn't follow the recipe to a *T*. But what went in my mouth was DEF. a 5 star!! : ). The only two things I changed were in the flour and butter. I added 1 cup selfrising white and 1 c whole wheat. In the batter I cut in 1 1/2 *sticks* NOT cups of butter, then on the very top I melted the other half stick and poured in on the top. My children have asked me to PLEASE make again ;). Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
YUM! My favorite apple crisp recipe by far! I cut the "crisp" part down to 1c flour, 1.5c oats, and 2 sticks butter (with a couple dashes of the nutmeg and cinnamon). I also tossed my apples with cinnamon and sugar to give it a bit more flavor. Will make this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this recipe is awsome!! I especially love how it has sorta a bottom crust. Cuz I have a small fam I half the recipe and put it in a 8x8. Plus i for tge oatmeal I did 3/4c. Plain oats and 1 pouch of maple brown sugar oatmeal. Then mixed in about 3 tbls. Brown sugar with the apple slices before I put them in the pan. Baked it for about 50 min, until the apple slices in the middle were tender. Served it up with a hefty scoop of vanilla ice cream. I can honestly say that it was THE BEST apple crisp me and my family have ever had!! Hope everyone elses' turns out just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Good, but I'd make sure to cut the apple slices thin. I cut the apples in 8 slices cause they were small but I would do even more next time. I'm giving it 4 stars cause I believe 1 1/2 cups flour is more appropriate and this recipe calls for tons of butter. I used 15 apples in a granny smith/golden delicious apple mix. People were overall pleased with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
It was my first time making apple crisp so I followed the recipe almost exactly. I tossed the sliced apples with a little bit of lemon juice. I should have followed some suggestions made by other reviewers about using less flour and oats. My crisp came out a little on the doughy side but at least there was a little "crisp" to the top at the end of baking. Ate it with ice cream and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sereen
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
very tasty...but crumble isnt as soft as it could be....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Good recipe. Thanks! I especially appreciate the nutmeg and the oats. Instead of cinamon I used chinese 5-spice. I also added some lemon rind to the crisp. Very nice! Sour apples combine the best, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is hands down the best apple crisp we've ever had! We added finely chopped pecans over the top for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuyInHouTX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very nice but I made a few changes that were suggested by previous reviews. I used 1.5 cups of flour instead of the suggested 2 cups. In addition, I added 1 tsp vanilla. I cut my apples a bit too large and they were pretty crunchy when eating but still very yummy. I plan to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States