Apple Crisp IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My own recipe is similar to this one and I make extra topping because we like it firm on the top rather than crumbly and I do not put any crumb mixture on the bottom. My favorite baking apple is Northern spy but also use Mutsu which is more available. I also add cinnamon and a little brown sugar to the apples before putting them in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Raymond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed the recommendations of othes and reduced the amount of oat and flour -- big mistake. Not enough topping and didn't give that "crisp" feeling. The next time I used the full amount and I think its important to note that the recipe calls for 1.5 CUPS of butter NOT STICKS...with 1.5 cups, you need as much topping as the recipe calls for. I just worked the butter into the crumble with my hands until it appeared uniform. (I don't have patience to "cut" the butter in). I used 1/2 honey crisp apples and 1/2 gala...it was crisp and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fabie Zimm
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I decided to toss the sliced apples in a half cup of brown sugar and a couple spoonfuls of cinnamon and it definitely added an extra kick to it. However, I ended up cooking the dish an extra 30mins to get the right crunch and the apples tender enough. I used red delicious and it was delicious indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I believe it needed less flour, or juicier apples. It turned out dry. The 'crisp' was very tasty, liked having it on the top and bottom of the pan. Was happy to have some ice cream for some moisture though. Will try less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't have nutmeg the first time around so increased the cinnamon, it was awesome. The second time I used the nutmeg and decided that it was much better using just the cinnamon. I also increased the apple a bit, but over all I will continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
thing didn't even cook...too much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Should of read the other reviews, not sure what I was thinking. Too much flour was dry topping. I substituted a couple apples for a couple pears. I will defiantly try this again see if I can tweak and get it to that five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
It will be hard to finish the pan. It is mushy and seems like a lot of butter and sugar on apples rather than apple crisp. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I liked this, but had a few issues. Something seemed a bit off with the topping. There was way too much butter, it got a bit greasy and soggy. And the topping was not as "crumbly" as most other crumbles. It tasted great but I didn't love the texture. Next time I will cut down on the butter and the flour and see if that's better. I will also slice my apples THICKER next time so they don't get so mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Don't tell grandma but THIS is the best! I didn't change a thing and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States