Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
DO NOT ATTEMPT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This recipe was a HUGE disappointment! The topping had no taste. Could be better if more ingredients were added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I used a combination of Rice Milk, H2O, and whipped cream, instead of just milk, using a base of Arrowhead Mill's Organic Buttermilk Pancake Mix (rather than flour). Because I am cooking for 2, I cut all ingredients down to about a 1/3 of original qty. While I usually use some form of butter (usually Smart Balance spread w/ flax seed oil), I specifically searched for a recipe that did NOT include any type of butter in the topping. Like one suggestion, I mixed all ingredients together at the start, and will top with just a few sprinkles of the buttermilk mix and a few oats towards the last 15 min. of baking time for a crispy topping. I am rating based on my modifications for adding organic ingredients + mixing altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
this can't be a serious recipe. it was the worst. i tried another recipe on this site for apple crisp. what a difference. if anything, this is an absolute base recipe. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I just have a suggestion... dont use macintosh apples, they are waaayy to soft for cooknig/ baking with. The best that I have used are Ida Red or golden delicious. Mac's are good for eating, but for baking they get really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This recipe had no flavor and the topping was pasty. I'm so glad I was just playing in the kitchen when I made this and not taking it to work to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
this recipe was not good at all the top was pasty and tasted doey and the apples were to runny sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I tried it because of the short list of ingredients and relative ease. I was actually in tears after dishing this out to my family. No one could eat it. Negative 100 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
The top did not turn out. To save the apples i had to peel off the old top layer and recreate another topping. My advice, try a different apple crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
the oats became very chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBRAZSY
Home Town: Minoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States