Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I followed this recipe to a TEE and it was fantastic. I used all the water recommended and all the sugar. I found it not too watery and not too sweet. I did find that it took about 50 minutes to get well-browned, and I even turned the heat up to 400 after 35 minutes. I used hard little tart apples - Im not sure what kind they were but I think the tartness was what kept this recipe from being overly sugary. I think the right choice of apples may be key! Its a wonderful recipe and I will definitely make it again. EDITED: Since my original review, I have made this recipe 4 additional times with different types of apples and they were all pretty darn fantastic. I have decided that I like cooking it in a hotter oven (400) and it seems to get done in about the time stated. Tonight I tried it without peeling the apples, and it was very good this way as well - if you dont mind apple skins. For company, I might peel them, but my boyfriend and I enjoyed the version with peels very well - he even said he liked it better (though I disagree).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Can you say "UMMM, UMMMM!" I didn't have oats on hand, so I wanted an apple crip recipe that didn't call for any, this one was great! Very simple, though cutting & peeling the apples take a long time. I used five large granny smith apples and a 9X13 glass pan so I had to increase all the ingredients by half and it worked out fine. I mixed brown & white sugar as others suggested and baked it 8 minutes longer and got a wonderful crispy topping! I will be making this again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was really simple and delicious--vanilla ice cream a must. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the crust mix and sprinkled about 1/4 cup of brown sugar on top. Worked like a charm. It was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I followed some of the other reviews..changed half of the white sugar to brown sugar and it turned out even better the 2nd time...I made it for a Halloween party and it was almost totally gone by the end of the party..I had wonderful comments on it too..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I took the advise of other reviewers and cooked for 50 minutes. The top was real crunchy! I also used 1/2 a cup white sugar and 1/2 a cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar. Next time I think I will add the cinnamon to the topping mixture instead of right on top of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was delicious! Like others, I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar for the topping. Also I added 1 tsp cinnamon. We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. I don't care for oatmeal, so this recipe was just what I was looking for. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This was so easy and so yummy! The only recommendation I'd make is...use Granny Smith apples! I tried Granny Smith & Golden Delicious mixed, but it was the tartness of the Granny Smith's with the sweetness of the crispy topping that really made this dish stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Simply fantastic. I also used half brown sugar and half white suger with OJ instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was wonderful -- I do have to agree though that it was even better with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I reduced the water. The "crumb" mix wasn't really crumby, I think I used too much butter, but I ran out of flour to try to fix it. It looked more like apple dumplings than a crisp. But the taste was excellent, so no harm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States