Apple Crisp III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The taste of this was just ok, but the presentation was unappealing. I wouldn't serve this to company as it goes very flat and the bake time is so long that the apples turn to soft mush. I used Granny Smith apples and they gave it a tartness that could have used a little sugar mixed in with the apples. It was taking a long time for the topping to brown and if my apples had cooked too much longer, they would have completely disappeared, so I put the dish under the broiler for a few minutes. The taste is ok, but I wouldn't use this recipe again unless I was stuck in the house with only a few ingredients. My suggestions if you chose to use this are to cut the apples in thick slices, double the amount of apples, mix them in a sugar/flour/cinnamon mixuture before adding the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Also used 1/2 brown sugar & 1/2 white sugar. Could stand a little more flour for the crumble part as it gets a little too clumpy. Baked in Pampered Chef stoneware. Turned out nice and would be good with ice cream or for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliHunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade W
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was soooooooo yummy and easy! Just perfect when you have a sweet tooth and need something fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good, very easy. I made only 2 changes. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and only 1/4 cup of water. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This recipe was wonderful. I would add 1tsp of vanilla. and use 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. It does need to cook longer to brown fully and crisp. Gave a 4 star only because the crust wasn't as crunchy as I would have liked. Flavor still great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good when served warm. Instead of sprinkling the cinnamon on the apples, put the apples and cinnamon in a different bowl and mix it up. Also use brown sugar as well as white (half&half)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I baked this for a party and it was a hit! It was very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great recipe! I add some lemon juice to the water for the apples to kick up the flavor a little bit. It's always eaten up at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Turned out Great! I used all brown sugar instead, doubled the recipe, & set it for 400 F for 50 minutes in a 9x13 glass baking dish. Simple, yet wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made this exactly as written and the flavor was great, i liked the crust but it took so much longer to cook. I did 50 minutes at 350 then upped the temp to 400 for another 20 minutes,then it came out crispbut not too crisp. The apples broke down quite a bit at such a long cooking time so there wasnt as much filling as i would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States