Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Oh my gosh, this is delicious! I have never had such a delicious apple crisp! I will never search for another recipe! I fixed this for my large, picky family for Thanksgiving. There were no leftovers!:-) Here's what I changed. I made 2 batches. In one, I added 1/4 cup of water rather than 1/2 cup. That was perfect. In the other batch I didn't add any water at all, and it was a little drier than I like. So cut the water in half. Also, I tossed the apples in the cinnamon and sugar mixture, and I added some nutmeg to that mixture. I think that's what made the apples soooo perfect. Lastly, I doubled the crust recipe and put a layer on top and on bottom. Yum!!! I used 6 large Granny Smith's. I won't change a THING about this recipe next time I fix it, which if my family has anything to say about it, will be tomorrow!:-) 11-13-06 I made this again for like the 5th time. It's still good, but I think next time I will try to cut the butter into the crust rather than melt it. My crust is never "crumbly" like I like on a crisp recipe. Still a 5-star no doubt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Excellent recipe and a hallmark of a superb chef, but as usual I had to futz with it. Leave out the water, add 1/4 teaspoon of Nutmeg to the apples, double the crust recipe, add 1 1/2 c. chopped pecans to the crust, and it comes out perfect. Remember to use baking apples (preferably granny smiths) for this, as red delicious will be more sweet and therefore need less sugar. Good vanilla ice cream provides all the moisture you would be missing from the water, and a food processor does wonders for taking the work out of slicing the apples. Now just to find a good butter rum sauce recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1743 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
There's a reason why this recipe has nearly 300 reviews - it's THAT GOOD. THIS is now my standard Apple Crisp recipe. I made mine in a 9 x 13 pan and doubled the topping as another reviewer suggested to cover. Perfect. I mixed my apples up with the flour/cinnamon mixture - this draws out the juices and eliminates the need for the extra water. I did not add the water to the apples. My only mistake was I sliced my apples too thin and because they were too ripe some of it came out more like applesauce, but that was my own error. Everyone loved it! I know you are considering other Apple Crisp recipes here but MAKE THIS ONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Excellent recipie. It is important to follow the steps and not deviate from them (i.e. don't mix up All the ingredients at once and throw it over the apples as you may be able to get away with in other crisp recipes) The recipie was great. the water factor wasn't a factor for me. it turned out to be a very nice thick juice that accented the dish nicely. A word of caution when using this or any apple crisp recipie. THE TYPE OF APPLES DO MATTER. I made this twice. Once with Red Delicious apples. these apples are not the greatest to use as they are often soft and bland. the recipe was great but the apples lacked. I then used Granny Smith green sour apples. This made All the difference! Do not be afraid to use sour apples. Keep in mind you are using two cups of sugar in this recipie and it will be quite sweet. It simply comes down to the need for a hard and sour or at the very least sharp tasting apple to counter the sugar and even the flavor out. It will taste much better. Do not use soft or bland tasting apples, and do not overcook as the apples will turn mushy if you overcook. If you fear overcooking then cut your apple thicker. If you like the very thin slices of apple then you need to you a very hard, fresh, tart apple. I do not suggest using Red Delicious apples. I also addeed a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
723 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Tasted wonderful. I followed the directions exactly this time, but in the future I will make the following changes: cut the amount of water in half, double the topping and add 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. You may need to increase the cooking time as mine was not done in 45 minutes. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
One important note: skip the water! I didn't use any at all and it was perfect. I made a smaller version using a square 8x8 pan. I halved the sugar mixture for the apples but used the full measurements for the topping. If you are using the original 9x13 size, make sure you double the topping otherwise it wouldn't be enough. This is the best apple crisp I have ever tasted and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Great Recipe! I did not add the water, since I never add water to fruit crisp recipes. I mixed Granny Smith apples with Jonathan apples and the result was a delicious dessert. For those bakers who said the recipe was too sweet, I am guessing that they used eating apples and not baking apples. Rather than sprinkle the sugar, cinnaman and flour on the apples, I mixed the ingredients together and then stirred in the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
By far the best apple crisp I have had (or made for that matter...). I only used 5 granny smith apples as I also prefer a higher "crust-to-apples" ratio and cut back the white sugar to 1/2 cup as others have suggested. This gave the crisp a perfect sweet/tart flavor, and for some reason there never seems to be any leftovers. This one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Wow... this was really really sweet. The topping is absolutely delicious, but I would cut the sugar, probably only half of the white. Mine was also a touch watery... I made it exactly by the directions. What went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Tried this tonight with Jonathan & Granny Smith apples. I hadn't read the reviews first, but thought that was a lot of water, so I used apple cider instead. I found the amount of sugar OK but think I will try brown sugar in the apple mixture the next time. I used apple pie spice instead of plain cinnamon. Can't wait to try the recipe with cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States