Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Way too much sugar! I did exactly every step this recipe listed, and it came out entirely too sweet! 1 full cup of sugar including 1 cup of brown sugar is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Hang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I think i msy have put too much water because it was a bit chewier than expected but overall taste is delicious. I used McIntosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunah LD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this, as written, tonight for a quick apple dessert and it is perfect! It was easy to put together from ingredients on hand and was a hit with my family. I like that the cinnamon wasn't overpowering and that the crisp topping was made without any spice. It's nice to actually taste the sweetened apples. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I mixed the sugar/cinnamon with the sliced Granny Smiths before putting into the baking dish, and I reduced the water to 2 tablespoons, and made extra "crisp" for the topping. My mother-in-law said it was better than hers, so you know this is a keeper recipe. I've already been asked to bring it to Thanksgiving and Christmas and Easter..... My husband loves apple pie, but claims he'll never eat another piece of pie as long as this apple crisp is available. Many thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Best apple crisp recipe...period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I haven't had apple crisp in years. So I saw this recipe and made it for dessert. It was simple to prepare and baked it while everyone was having dinner. It came out great and everyone enjoyed it. Definitely making it again. Thanks for posting the recipe, keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
AMAZING! But waaaaay to sweet, I even reduced the sugar but it was still a little sickening :) will definitely make again, but will reduce the sugar even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Outstanding- the best apple crisp I've had. I didn't measure the apples. I just filled a glass 13x9 dish (size in the recipe) almost to the top. I had a combination of apples, including many McIntosh, which tend to be more watery. Also used Crispin and Spartan varieties because that's what I had. I cut the water in half, but using the full amount in the recipe probably would not do harm- especially if using apples other than McIntosh. I don't know why people are complaining of so much liquid after baking. The recipe calls for 1 cup + flour which should absorb liquid.- maybe they didn't follow the recipe. The recipe is not too sweet if you use enough fruit, as a 13X9 pan implies. Some people are using 5 apples or peaches . That is not going to make 10 cups or even fill the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was a last minute recipe and it was fabulous!!! I will be keeping this one on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States