Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Janet Mustafa
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Simple and yummy! I made this with red delicious apples I had on hand that were a little on the tart side. I cut back on the sugar, added a little (1/4 tsp) nutmeg and didn't add any water. Turned out great! I can't wait to try it with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Mustafa
Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Mix the sugar mixture with the apples (and do not just sprinkle on top). Leave out the water. Double the topping. Half on the bottom and half on top. Add nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Best apple crisp I've ever had! The only thing I added was half a tsp of vanilla to the brown sugar mixture. To those who think the water is unnecessary. It's not, it really helps the cinnamon/sugar mixture stick to the apples. I coated the apples in the cinnamon/sugar mixture with the water by stirring them in the pan so it would be evenly applied. It turned out PERFECTLY. Will definitely be making this again.. and again... and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Delicious! Made this for AFC Playofff and there was not enough. I could have made two easily. Best Apple Crisp I've had, ever! I will increase the topping by 50% and cut back on the water by half next time though. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I was honestly surprised how yummy this Apple crisp is! I was tempted to alter the recipe with less sugar but I'm glad that I didnt! Next time I'll double the topping although it was still good with one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marieseager
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Overall, very yummy and it the spot for my dessert craving, using a bunch of apples I needed to use. It was a little runny at the bottom. But it was simply made (with help from young children) and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I have been making this for a few years now and the family loves it! The only change I make is the apples. We have a tree in the back yard and I use those, no idea how many apples, enough to fill my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
AWESOME recipe. Like so many other reviewers, I didn't add water, used a 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg in with the cinnamon/sugar mix, and I doubled the topping mixture. I used Granny Smith apples, and they were very firm, so I ended up having to bake the dish for two hours. I kept it covered most of the time to not overcook the top, and it was so worth the wait. It may have been ready sooner, but the extra baking time brought out plenty of moisture in the apples, and it caramelized so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made it for the first time for New Year's Eve. I dressed it up a bit by altering the 1/2 cup water. I made it 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup Apple brandy. With a dash of clove to the cinnamon, it made a great adult taste for Apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Mathias

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Thank you, Diane, for such a great recipe! I had a bowl of a Granny Smiths that were becoming a bit too ripe - had all the ingredients for this on hand, and vanilla ice cream in the freezer, to boot! YUM! Do not change a thing! Perfect, as is! Hardest part was peeling all of the apples. Well worth it! I will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 4,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States