Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this the other day with some variations suggested by reviewers such as less sugar, less butter, less water, more crust, and use an 8x8 pan. The taste was good but next time I will put half the crust mixture on the bottom because I kept having to increase the baking time when the crust still looked raw after 45 minutes. When I make it again, I will try different apples, decrease the sugar even more, keep the amount of butter the same as in the recipe, and add apple juice or apple cider instead of water. I think the liquid is important for steam-cooking the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen E Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I would cut the brown sugar in the crumble topping considerably...much too sweet for my taste. The apples can withstand less sugar as well. Also, I would change flour to cornstarch since it does a better job thickening liquid so it isn't runny. My mom also used to squeeze a bit of lemon juice onto her sliced apples used in pies/etc. to brighten the flavor a bit. If you slice apples thinly, you shouldn't need the full 45 min to bake. Mine were about 1/2" thick and the baking time was perfect for the apples without making them mushy but it was a bit too long for the crumble topping and dried it out. Since the flour didn't thicken the 1/4c water (I halved what recipe required based on reviews), I ended up stirring the entire end product into itself so the dried-out/overbaked topping could be alleviated with the excess liquid that accumulated at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My whole family LOVES this apple crisp recipe!!! I make the recipe as is, as far as ingredients go. When I am slicing up the apples I have the cinnamon, sugar and flour already in the bowl that I am putting the apples into. Helps them from turning brown on you!!! Thank you SO much for this awesome treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Loved this dessert it was easy to make, I added pears as well as apples (not enough apples) and it turned out great! We will absolutely remake this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is very good. I changed a few things as I am gluten free. I changed the flour for all purpose gluten free flour n it was very good. I also added chopped pecans in the topping as they come out crunchy and roasted. I also doubled the topping as we like lots. Very good flaver. I added some nutmeg like a few others in the apples and a little pinch of ground cloves. Used brown sugar but only half of what it called for. I cut just a little of the water. I also added raisins in the apples as we like that. Raisins make it sweeter so another reason to cut back on the sugar. The flour in the apples I also used all purpose gluten free four. This crisp is very good buy itself or top with vanilla ice cream or cool whip while warm n it melts on top. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
nom nom, words escape me for how tasty...nom nom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
loved this! it was so good! i made a few changes... i didnt use baking soda because i didnt have it and i also used raw cane sugar instead of brown sugar because thats all i had. I cant wait to actually make this following the recipe correctly! Oh and i blended the oats to make it powdery (personal preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStokes1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
A great dessert to have especially with a scope of ice cream which makes it both marm and cold at the perfect temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by party person
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Best apple crisp I've ever made and I've made hundreds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
If you're looking for something different and relatively easy to make then this recipe is for you!!:) Below is my experience when trying this recipe: so i tried this recipe about two weeks ago, I'm new to the whole baking and cooking thing. I used granny smith apples in this recipe. I ended up burning the top (i set the dish to close to the heating elements), once i took off the charcoal everyone ate some after dinner AND everyone LOVED it and said this is how an apple crisp tastes. The syrup that develops during cooking is good and the apples keep a nice texture. Next time I make this I may use more butter when making the topping just because it still felt really dry when mixing in the 1/2 cup of butter. Overall definitely a great recipe and will be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States