Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this last night for my family and it was a big hit with everyone. I made a smaller amount, using a pie pan... so for the filling, I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup and the water to 1/3 cup (I also used older 'gala' apples 'on their last leg'). For the crumble topping, I reduced the amount of oatmeal, flour, & brown sugar to 3/4 cup each. I had a lot of crumble topping which was good (at least 1/2" thick crumble crisp fully covered the top of pie). The apple crisp was still a bit too sweet, which my son thought was wonderful. I should have reduced the sugars a bit more, especially since I used 'gala' apples - they are already sweet. Next time, if I'm using 'gala' apples and cooking the same amount, I'll further reduce both the white sugar used in filling and the brown sugar used in crumble topping, to 1/2 cup each. It will still taste sweetly yummy and I doubt my son will notice the difference. We ate it as it was...no ice cream and it was delicious. I have no doubt it will be a fabulous taste treat when eaten with vanilla ice cream. I plan to make it again and eat it with ice cream soon. This recipe is a 'keeper'. I don't need look for another apple crisp recipe version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cris
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is yummy!!! I followed the recipe but I did not have baking powder. I don't miss it. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
WONDERFUL!! My family asks me to make this every yr for the holidays. Its so great! The only thing I change was that I put in extra vanilla... about twice as much. We just like vanilla around here. Will be holding on to this recipe for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This recipe was delicious, just a little too sweet. I would cut down the sugar the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe every time i want apple crisp and it is amazing everytime! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this crisp for a local pool league award ceremony, there were roughly 80 to 100 people there. Quadrupled the recipe and made it in 2 big hotel pans. Both pans were DEMOLISHED. Literally. I cannot tell you how many compliments I received! I've already been asked to make it again at next years' ceremony. Hubby is already asking for it to be made again so he can have one to himself. Followed the recipe as is, no changes at all and it was perfect. And so simple to make too! Will definitely be making more of these in the future. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I loved this recipe, it was very tasty & the perfect amount of sweetness. I used Granny Smith Apples & added a lil nutmeg to my mixture & that was the only change I made. 2 Thumbs Way Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is now our standard apple/fruit crisp recipe. It is the right level of sweetness and you can play with the sweetness for your own palate. The main reason though that I like it, is that the crisp is dead easy to put together. Not that blending with a pastry blender is difficult but its one more tool. Plus, the crisp always brown beautifully, and stays on top of the crisp. From start to oven its about 15 minutes. I add a little bit of cinnamon in the crisp part from time to time. Some people say skip the water, but for my kids they like the sauce it makes way better than without the water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyone1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this the other day with some variations suggested by reviewers such as less sugar, less butter, less water, more crust, and use an 8x8 pan. The taste was good but next time I will put half the crust mixture on the bottom because I kept having to increase the baking time when the crust still looked raw after 45 minutes. When I make it again, I will try different apples, decrease the sugar even more, keep the amount of butter the same as in the recipe, and add apple juice or apple cider instead of water. I think the liquid is important for steam-cooking the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen E Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,012) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States