Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is a great dish! I used Honey Crisp apples, I bought from the Amish Market, (they were the size of softballs) so I only used about 5 apples for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Man, this is the way apple crisp ought to taste. So hearty, rustic, and substantial. A co-worker gave my wife a box of apples and this was a great way to use some of them. I forgot to add the water, but it wasn't a problem. I may use half the water called for next time, but even without it, the apple crisp was plenty moist. You cannot go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is an absolute fantastically delicious apple crisp. INSTEAD of water, I used the zest of one orange and squeezed the juice from the orange. For those that have made this recipe over and over, try this tweak with the orange and you will probably agree that it brings out an extra note of flavor brightness. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
So yummy! Like others, I halved the apples and mix (for 2 people) but made the full topping mix. I thought it came out a little watery but hadn't read the comments. Next time I will cut the water in half too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great recipe! It was easy, super yummy AND my entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great! I usually use the joy of cooking's recipe for apple crisp, and for some reason it never occurred to me to search the web for a good recipe... Well, I'm happy to report that this one is much better! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, maybe a little less sugar on the apples. When it comes to the "extra water" debate, I think that it really depends on the apples you are using. If they are juicy, they will bubble up and be delicious, but if they are dry, it is not going to work. I usually peek into the oven about halfway through the cooking time, and if the apples look like there's not enough juice, then adding a little water works magic. Some people I know use orange juice. It really doesn't matter, but you want a little sauce to make the dish really work. So for me, I don't add any water, and then check on it halfway through and decide if it could use some. I am so glad I have a new apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made it with half Bartlett pear and half Granny Smith apple which was a nice mix of tart and sweet. I left out the water and sugar from the fruit part and halved the sugar from the topping. (I used brown sugar as well). Even with that I found it a tad too sweet but that's just my personal taste. My boyfriend found the sweetness level to be just fine and suggested some corn starch or arrowroot in the fruit mixture to make it less watery. I also added a little bit of shredded coconut and cinnamon to the topping. It might have been less watery if I used just apples. It's a good recipe though. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe and I think this is the best apple crisp I've ever made. Perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Very good! Good ratios and it seems to work every time. Follow the recipe and you will have a great apple crisp. Use the same topping for other fruit crisps; it works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States