Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Encee's
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This was really great! Made it for Sunday lunch dessert and everyone cleaned their plates. Made a few changes, added some orange zest to the apples, and used half a cup of white sugar in the crumble since I didn't have brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have to say this recipe is spot on IF you use 10 cups of apples. I use spartan apples for apple crisp every time. My husband is an apple dessert anything. I did add 1/4 cup caramel sauce and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. The key to a crunchy topping is to cut the butter in the dry ingredients AND just before you put it on top of the apples, drop 1/2 teaspoon of butter onto the apples, about 6 dopples. To keep the apples creamy, don't put a bottom layer of crumble in the pan. It tastes wonderful with a creamy apple, buttery with cinnamon bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorijean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The flavor is awesome!!! I would take other recommendations and double the toppings and ether make the choice to cut out the water or add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Delicious. Made this for holidays and was enjoyed by everyone. I threw in some raisins and crushed walnuts which gave it some extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Flatsoussis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
One of the things I love about this site is the suggestions by the reviewers. Due to the suggestions, I made this recipe with half the apple part with no water. I did put in 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice before tossing the flour and sugar with my Granny Smith apples. I made the full amount of topping. The whole thing fits in a 7 1/2" souffle pan or an 8"x8" pan. I cooked it for 50 minutes and it was absolutely outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
So wonderful. I added rosemary to give it a bit more flavour and lessened the sugar and it was like eating apples and caramel. So delicious with a scoop of plain vanilla ice cream.I love how the oats gives it that depth rather than just flour , sugar and butter. Also, adding bran to the top mixture was so yummy.Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice Franklin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this recipe today with a few modifications. It turned out excellent but I think it would have been too sweet had I added the sugar to the apples so I gave it a 4/5 stars. I used whole wheat flour, added 1 cup of pecans chopped and left out the white sugar. It turned out wonderful and I would make it again the exact same way. My daughter asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Way too much sugar in this recipe and not enough cinnamon. Next time, I will cut the sugar in half (at least) and double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoholic
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
this recipe is the bomb this is the first apple crisp I made and I'm glad I chose to make this one it's delicious my hubby like it very much. I followed some reviewers comment cut the water in half and double the crumble and it was perfect I used granny smith apples. this recipe definitely for keeps. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Basic and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,023) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States