Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! Will be making this again! Kids LOVED it, I loved it and I didn't change a thing about this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My issue with this recipes is that I CANNOT STOP EATING IT! I;ve made it about 100 times and every time I take a little spoonful of it and next thing I know I've eaten half the pan. Seriously, go make it, this is THE BEST. Also, don't worry if you don't have baking soda, I've never used it ( I never seem to have it around) and it always turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is by far one of the best recipes I have found on here- and one of the only ones I have not had to "tweak". I used assorted types of apples that we had from apple picking, and used the recommended amount of water as well. I did not double the topping ingredients as many people have recommended, and am glad I did not because it would have been too much for our taste. I would recommend a more tart apple, or to decrease the white sugar if you are using a sweeter apple. Serve with some real vanilla ice cream and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
used a large sweet potato and the few apples i had left. added extra cinnamon. replaced half the water with real maple syrup. and this was amazing. will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
So. Darn. Delicious!!! I used haralson apples and made this with my favorite little 5 year old and two hours later and a scoop of vanilla ice cream we were all in heaven!!! great recipe and very easy!!! I did use a lot of apples, I just didn't think the amount made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is an absolutely delicious recipe! I've made it in a 9X9 and a casserole dish, and it was great either way. It could be renamed, "Vanishing Apple Crisp," because that is EXACTLY what it does here. THIS is now my apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe is perfect as written, but after reading other reviews, I decided I should double the crumble and add a layer to the bottom. Definitely don't regret it, but it came out really sweet! So to remedy this, I'm putting a dollop of vanilla yogourt when serving it because it adds a tangy creaminess that balances the sugar very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mobychic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was delicious! made as written, and it was GREAT!. Second time, I added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to the crumble on the top. a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did make some changes that I feel made this recipe more to my liking. First, I used about 12 Granny Smith apples in a 9 by 13 pan. I mixed the 1 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon flour, 1 tea. of cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of ground up walnuts in a bowl with the apples tossing to coat. Place apple mixture in pan WITHOUT adding any water. Juice forms when the apples are mixed together with the sugar mixture; therefore, I only poured the juice from the apples over top. Adding the water would have made it to watery. I also doubled the crumb topping place a layer in the middle of the apples and the rest on top. I have made many apple desserts in my lifetime and one important step in avoiding a watery apple dish is to allow it to stand a couple of hours before cutting in to it. This gives it time to firm up. Wonderful crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Awesome. Not too sweet. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyineggbeater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States