Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was amazingly simple to make and it was a HUGE hit with my family!! I'll definitely be using this recipe a lot this fall! Ala mode is the perfect way to enjoy this.. love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made it as directed... So good. Will try a few suggested alternatives from other reviews in the future while making (nutmeg, less water...) but was good as is. Only thing I recommend to people making this is to make sure you don't cut the apples to thin ( I did on some and they came out really mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kaschak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystal Dawn Morrison
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used honey crisp apples and followed the directions. Oh so yummy@!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the water and it was perfect! Love this recipe! I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I love the taste of this recipe but it didn't have the "crisp" I wanted. I substituted Japanese style, plain Panko bread crumbs in place of the oatmeal. Wow. Gives new meaning to the word crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I doubled the oats and butter because we like extra crunchies in ours. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Turned out WONDERFUL! Just minus the 1/2 cup of water next time and maybe make more of the crumbly topping YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Couch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
First several times I made this recipe as stated, and it is delicious. I have since then increased the crisp since that's my favorite part of apple crisp, so I add another half cup of oats, flour, brown sugar and stick of butter. Otherwise this recipe is perfect as is. I'd recommend honey crisp apples or Red Ida; and if you find they are particularly juicy, you can forgo the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Good recipe but too sweet for my liking. I doubled the crumble and cut the butter in rather than melting it. I mixed the flour and sugar into the apples rather than sprinkling. In addition I added the zest of 1 lemon and the juice from 1/2 a lemon so I cut back the water to 1/4 cup. Also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg , 1/8 TSP cloves and 1 tsp vanilla extract. For next time, I'd use half the amount of sugar both in the apple mix and the crumble. Especially if you intend to serve with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Overall this recipe was pretty good. My daughter loved it. However, I will be using a little less white sugar the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States