Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Delicious!! I did not measure apples, but used 10 granny smiths. Stirred apples/sugar before adding water. Baked longer than instructions bc slices were pretty think, but should have followed instructions - apples were a little mushy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNJENN43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This apple crisp is soooo delicious! I've made the recipe both as written and with a few modifications. As written, it's still really good but just a few minor changes really perfect the recipe. First, I add 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg to the cinnamon sugar mixture. I also mix the apples (I use 6-7 large Granny Smiths) with the cinnamon sugar mixture rather than pouring on top. I only add 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2, which adds just the right amount of moisture. For the crumb topping, I add just a small pinch (1/8 teaspoon) salt, and I cut cold diced butter into the crumb topping rather than melted butter. This yields a more "crumbly" topping. Baking for 45 minutes has worked perfectly for me. This apple crisp is so good that my fiancé ate through almost the whole batch himself within 2 days (and that was with a little self control haha), and begged me to make it again that same week! It's AMAZING!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Listened to a lot of the tips in other reviews... doubled the crumble (for a layer on the bottom), halved the water (used galas so only used half the sugar) which I added to the sugar mixture and tossed it all together (instead of pouring the water over it into the dish). AMAZING reviews from the full fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
very easy and my first time making it thanks it's out of this world and my house smells so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Graves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy Decker
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Game day dessert (GO HAWKS )2nd time making it! Family loves it. Taste like our old family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Decker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
simply the best apple crisp recipe I'be ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Perfect consistency. I made 1.5 times the topping and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Every time I make this it is gone within a day. One of our favorite fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very easy recipe that tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was searching for a new apple crisp recipe. Every fall, we pick bags of apples and make about 10 pans of apple crisp to freeze and eat throughout the year. I made two different recipes (this being one) and had a taste off. Everyone preferred this recipe. The apples keep their shape and don't cook to pieces. I only added 1/4 cup water and there is lots of liquid in the bottom of the pan. I suggest you adjust the water depending on the type of apple you're using. We use Mutsu apples and I will reduce the liquid to 1/8 cup (or less) in the future. The topping was crispy. We like a sweet apple crisp, so I left the other amounts as specified in the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanThom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 4,008) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States