Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I did skip the water but also tossed the apples in a bit (half a lemon's worth) of lemon juice before the sugar/flour mix (and of course added nutmeg as others did but also put some cinnamon and nutmeg in crumble). I was making apple crisp to use up a bag of apples and think the reviewers who talk about buying 'tart, crisp' apples for perfect apple crisp need to lighten up! My apples were a little soft and sweet so I added a tiny bit less sugar and the lemon juice also helped brighten them up.I scaled it down to just over six cups of apples for my 4 person dinner party and it was PLENTY and filled a large dish and used up nearly my entire 4lb bag of overripe gingergolds. Because they were a little soft to begin with I cooked for about 5-10 minutes less than recipe recommended and it was very good. Just use common sense. I have made dozens of good crisps but liked the idea of the melted butter so gave this a try and am glad I did. Tasty and easy with the melted butter, which made a very crispy delicious crumble (which there was a perfect ratio of to the apples without screwing with the portions). 4 picky eaters agree- just leave out the water, add a bit of lemon juice, and give it a jab with a fork near the end of cooking and take out when they are at your preferred softness level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Wardell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I've made this twice now, and it has been well received both times. My brother in law is an avid apple crisp addict, so this was very popular with him. I didn't change the recipe at all, though I think adding raisins would be an optional variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reston, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Overall really tasty, but don't trust any recipe that doesn't require you to grease the pan first! I assumed the butter and water would compensate, but I was wrong and the edges were really black after just 30 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Must eat warm and with wipped cream. Topping is a bit hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. As Ally99 said, only use a 1/4 c of water. Using a 1/2 c will make it too runny. It's still reeeeeeaally good. I don't see this sticking around the house for very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chris
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of time and each time I wish I had a bigger pan!! I used a pinch of nutmeg and only a 1/4 cup of water but everything else I kept the same. Dish this with a few scoops of French Vanilla ice cream and you'll be in heaven. It's also good after a few days hanging out in the fridge and then reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Had to modify the recipe (as I practice in small portions), but it came out great! Not too sweet at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuriousThrillz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I MADE CHANGES!! I used Jonagold apples and worked purrfecty! I thought this was a wonderful recipe. It was my first time of ever making it and I followed it completely. My family enjoyed it but being a southern girl it needed a little bit more. These are the changes that I did the 2nd time of making it: Used dark brow sugar instead of sugar Added vanilla extract and nutmeg but no measuring just by taste. Cut back on water because of the vanilla. For the topping, I used 3/4 cup of flour A little extra of butter Added some of some of the juices from the apples OMGOODNESS! It caramelized up so well and was not runny. The topping was awesome and it goes great with coffee! Thanks DK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is the best apple crisp I've ever tasted. I've made it quite a few times and always receive fantastic compliments. I'll turn to this recipe each and every time! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 3,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States