Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I used 1 1/2 times the crust. My crust turned out perfect. I cut the cubes of butter in small pieces then used a pastry cutter (?) to cut the butter into the mixture. At first, it was too fine so I just stuck the crust bowl over the vent of the oven to let the butter melt a bit. I used half about the white sugar. 7 Granny Smith apples cut about 1/2 inch thick. I added an extra 2 tsps of cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg. Mixed sugar mixture into the apples, instead of pouring on top. Only added 1/4 cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItsJustCricky
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was really easy to make and it tasted awesome. I didn't change the recipe, but I did add 1Tsp (teaspoon) of cardamom. It smelled wonderful while it cooked and the Cardamom added a lovely warm note to this dish. I also used three different types of apples to give it some variety. Really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Buelow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this was very good just a little too sweet for me,I will still make it but cut back on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pennsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very bland? I don't get the great reviews?? Needs some salt and vanilla - I used unsalted butter ? I added apple pie spice and twice as much cinnamon tg!! idk what the baking soda and powder were for? didn't rise? Next time I would toss w/ lemon juice , add salt , vanilla and skip soda and powder - and add some pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great recipe. I doubled the topping and used 5 granny smith apples, I think I would use 7 or 8 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Added ground pecans and almonds to the crumble mixture . Used home grown apples which are a little tart so I added 1/4 cup of best brown Sugar to the apple base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe is good but if you read the reviews you'll see that some omit the water completely and others reduce it and other tell you it's too sweet. I cut the water in half and it was still a soupy mess and still very sweet. That means either leave out the water completely or just add a tiny bit, say 1/10th the amount. Of course this will make the recipe that much sweeter, so that's something to take into account as well. The taste is amazing, just needs to have the right texture and you won't get that with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
good recipe, great taste, but I would omit the water and only use half the sugar as it was to runny and to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Let me add my 2 cents to these reviews. Awesome! I made this for a recent get together at my house and people just loved it. Thank you for the recipe! I did use a gallon bag and mixed the apples with the spices. I also doubled the topping and put some on the bottom of the pan. Added a small amount of nutmeg. All of these were suggestions made by others. Oh, I also cut the white sugar to a 1/2 cup. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States