Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great recipe. Followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is a good apple crisp recipe. I gave it 4 stars based on making it as written. I like that this recipe is a bit different than some because you add additional liquid to the apples so that they bake up a bit saucier. The second time making the recipe I made a few changes which makes it more like a 5 star recipe. I used less sugar with the apples - about 2/3 cup. I also used apple juice instead of water because I had it on hand for another recipe. I 1 and 1/2'd the topping so I would have more - but doubling the topping seemed like too much for me. Also when doing that I used 1/2 c. margarine and 1/4 cup canola oil. (I always use a bit of oil in my fruit crisp topping, as I think it makes it crunchier.) The apples I used weren't the most flavorful - someone gave them to me from off of their tree. But, even so the crisp was very yummy. Someone suggested to me, to add some lemon juice, about 2 TBL, to the apples to give them a tarter, more flavorful taste. Next time, if I don't use Granny Smiths, I'll try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My new all time favorite recipe for apple crisp. Super easy. Wonderful crunchy sugar coated top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was amazingly simple to make and it was a HUGE hit with my family!! I'll definitely be using this recipe a lot this fall! Ala mode is the perfect way to enjoy this.. love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made it as directed... So good. Will try a few suggested alternatives from other reviews in the future while making (nutmeg, less water...) but was good as is. Only thing I recommend to people making this is to make sure you don't cut the apples to thin ( I did on some and they came out really mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kaschak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystal Dawn Morrison
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used honey crisp apples and followed the directions. Oh so yummy@!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Tasted wonderful. I didn't add the water and it was perfect! Love this recipe! I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I love the taste of this recipe but it didn't have the "crisp" I wanted. I substituted Japanese style, plain Panko bread crumbs in place of the oatmeal. Wow. Gives new meaning to the word crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I doubled the oats and butter because we like extra crunchies in ours. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Turned out WONDERFUL! Just minus the 1/2 cup of water next time and maybe make more of the crumbly topping YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Couch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States