Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yum! Family loves it. Here are the suggesting I followed: Double crust and put on top and bottom. Blend soft butter in crust instead of melting it. Lemon on apples instead of water. Added nutmeg. Yum.. Next time I will use just a tad less white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eashton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was my first time ever making any kind of crisp and it turned out to be so delicious. My only issue was that I didn't know how many apples equaled 10 cups, so I went out and bought 8 apples. Well after I had peeled and sliced all of them, I realized not all would fit in the 9x13 pan. I ended up wasting a few apples, but now I know. I followed other reviewers' advice about using Granny Smith apples, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly how it says. I will be making this for my family so I can show off what a great cook I am now, even though this recipe is extremely easy, but they don't need to know that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So delicious! Takes a while to prepare with all the apple slicing, but totally worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
There is a reason that so many people have made and reviewed this. So good so good. I used 12 small Fuji and gala apples, peeled and cut. I mixed them with salt, the sugar, cinnamon, flour and lemon juice and vanilla instead of the water. In doubled the topping and put some on the bottom. Cooked it in a 9 x13 glass pan for a little over and apple. Bubble goodness not at all runny. Crunchy crunchy topping. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used 9 small granny smith apples. I followed most of the recipe directions, except: I coated the apples in the sugar mixture; and, since so many people recommended it and I had one less apple, I lowered the water amount to 1/4 cup. I was so excited to try this, but it ended up being overpowered with sugar. I felt like I was eating sugar with a side of apple. It may have been because I had one less apple, and they were small....but, IF I were to ever make this again, I would cut the sugar on the apples AND the topping down to 1/2 cup each...maybe add some more flour to the topping to replace the sugar. I don't understand why some people are recommending to double the topping...gag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
AMAZING!!! I made this a few hours before i baked it so i used 1/4cup lemon juice instead of water (cut back to 1/4 cup like other reviewers said) and added nutmeg, and used granny Smith Apples. It turned out great, and was a huge hit our our family get together. Next time I will cut back on the sugar, it was super sweet but still amazing! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luisa Love
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Delicious! I made it as followed on the recipe except I lowered the water to 1/4 cup and it actually came out a tad dry, so next time I think I'm going to make sure I add the 1/2 cup as stated on the recipe. I used Granny Smith apples and I cut in cold butter for the topping because I like my topping kind of crunchy. Taste so yummy thanks Diane Kester for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Made this for a big family gathering. It went so fast I didn't even get to taste it. Smelled amazing while it was baking, served with home made vanilla ice cream. I only used 3/4 cup of white sugar on the apples and about 2/3 cup flour for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was good. would put less water in next time and use granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States