Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I used gal bag of fresh apples that had been frozen and thawed on the counter. They were pretty juicy and so didn't add the water. Will try thawing just over night on the counter,,maybe 6-7 hrs and if that is still too juicy will try in the frig over night. Seemed like it took a long time to thaw even on the counter. Anyway I might add another TB or 2 of flour to thicken it up. I also used a tad more cinnamon. This was really good and took it to a meeting and several wanted the recipe. I am making it for Thanksgiving with ice cream. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Love this! So easy! I always forget to add the water and it still comes out perfect! I took the advice of others, added nutmeg to my apples. I like to let my apples sit while I make the topping which I also double, and which is why I forget the water. But they make their own juice like that and it's awesome. Only thing I add...CARAMEL! Right on top the topping, make it right in! Top with ice cream, amazing in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Papa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As other people have said, this is a very sweet recipe, and while using tart apples may help, it is still too sweet for my taste (that's with sugar already reduced by 25%). Next time I'll try reducing the sugar by half. There was quite a bit of liquid after baking, but that didn't bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
VERY sugary. Not enough apples. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rotole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was my first ever attempt at making an apple crisp. This recipe was easy to follow and tasted very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Best apple crisp recipe I've ever tried. I agree with other reviewers, the water is not necessary. Otherwise I made it exact to recipe, using cortland apples (tart and great for baking) and it was fantastic. The crumb topping is decadent and would go great with any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I double the ingredients for the crumb topping because my family and I like the additional crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
First time making any kind of crisp, and I loved it. I had all the ingredients on hand, and it was really easy and fast to make. Followed the recipe exactly except that I only had about 5 cups of apples. So, I halved the cinnamon, flour, sugar mixture. I kept the same measurements for the oats, brown sugar, butter mixture and put half on the bottom of the pan, layered the apples on top, and put the rest of the oat mixture on top. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Yum! My first baking of an apple crisp. My friends and I LOVED it. I did double the recipe for the crumble as I wanted a packed bottom and top layer in a 9x13 pan ~ the way my mom used to make it. And at the suggestions of other reviewers I didn't add the water. Great with or without vanilla ice cream! I also don't know how much 10 cups of apples is, but I used 5 granny smiths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Fabulous apple crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMcC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States