Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This turned out great! I used granny smith apples, cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup and water to 1/4 cup. I followed someone's advise to toss the apple slices in cinnamon & sugar mixture. I doubled the topping so that I could have a double crust and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Don't add water!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Amazing! I took advice from some other reviews. I doubled the crust recipe and put half on the bottom of the pan and the other half on top. I didn't add extra water but yet it was very moist because the apples had some excess water on them from rinsing them. I added nutmeg and cinnamon to the crust, I also added nutmeg to the apples. Using only 6 medium Granny Smith apples was plenty. This was my first time making this and it was a true success. I will be adding this recipe to my favs to make for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made several adjustments to this recipe. I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ginger. Then I cut the sugar in half, in both the apple mixture and in the topping. I also used whole wheat flour to give the topping a heartier and crunchier texture, and I added a pinch of salt and about 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts to the topping mixture. The end result was wonderful and flavorful, and the texture was perfect. The only problem was that the crust and filling were still much too sweet. Maybe next time I'll reduce the sugar by 2/3 instead of 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made it exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I like how the sugar/cinnamon sticks to the apples when it's baking because of that 1T. flour! Water is a must, otherwise apples are dry. Yes, double the crisp part; yum yum! (I think I'll try adding pecans as someone suggested.) (I'm not overly fond of nutmeg myself.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Way too much brown sugar. It really ruined the apple crisp. Very easy to make. Used a bit more cinnamon and added a pinch of nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I made this and my family went crazy. This is sooo delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I've made this half a dozen times at least - a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yum! Family loves it. Here are the suggesting I followed: Double crust and put on top and bottom. Blend soft butter in crust instead of melting it. Lemon on apples instead of water. Added nutmeg. Yum.. Next time I will use just a tad less white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eashton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States