Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This recipe was delicious, just a little too sweet. I would cut down the sugar the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe every time i want apple crisp and it is amazing everytime! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Made this crisp for a local pool league award ceremony, there were roughly 80 to 100 people there. Quadrupled the recipe and made it in 2 big hotel pans. Both pans were DEMOLISHED. Literally. I cannot tell you how many compliments I received! I've already been asked to make it again at next years' ceremony. Hubby is already asking for it to be made again so he can have one to himself. Followed the recipe as is, no changes at all and it was perfect. And so simple to make too! Will definitely be making more of these in the future. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I loved this recipe, it was very tasty & the perfect amount of sweetness. I used Granny Smith Apples & added a lil nutmeg to my mixture & that was the only change I made. 2 Thumbs Way Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is now our standard apple/fruit crisp recipe. It is the right level of sweetness and you can play with the sweetness for your own palate. The main reason though that I like it, is that the crisp is dead easy to put together. Not that blending with a pastry blender is difficult but its one more tool. Plus, the crisp always brown beautifully, and stays on top of the crisp. From start to oven its about 15 minutes. I add a little bit of cinnamon in the crisp part from time to time. Some people say skip the water, but for my kids they like the sauce it makes way better than without the water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyone1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I made this the other day with some variations suggested by reviewers such as less sugar, less butter, less water, more crust, and use an 8x8 pan. The taste was good but next time I will put half the crust mixture on the bottom because I kept having to increase the baking time when the crust still looked raw after 45 minutes. When I make it again, I will try different apples, decrease the sugar even more, keep the amount of butter the same as in the recipe, and add apple juice or apple cider instead of water. I think the liquid is important for steam-cooking the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen E Atkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I would cut the brown sugar in the crumble topping considerably...much too sweet for my taste. The apples can withstand less sugar as well. Also, I would change flour to cornstarch since it does a better job thickening liquid so it isn't runny. My mom also used to squeeze a bit of lemon juice onto her sliced apples used in pies/etc. to brighten the flavor a bit. If you slice apples thinly, you shouldn't need the full 45 min to bake. Mine were about 1/2" thick and the baking time was perfect for the apples without making them mushy but it was a bit too long for the crumble topping and dried it out. Since the flour didn't thicken the 1/4c water (I halved what recipe required based on reviews), I ended up stirring the entire end product into itself so the dried-out/overbaked topping could be alleviated with the excess liquid that accumulated at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My whole family LOVES this apple crisp recipe!!! I make the recipe as is, as far as ingredients go. When I am slicing up the apples I have the cinnamon, sugar and flour already in the bowl that I am putting the apples into. Helps them from turning brown on you!!! Thank you SO much for this awesome treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Loved this dessert it was easy to make, I added pears as well as apples (not enough apples) and it turned out great! We will absolutely remake this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,999) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States