Apple Crisp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe has good texture and aroma but too sweet for our taste even after reducing all sugars by 1/4 cup each. Did not have cornstarch and was not sure about using plain flour so just melted the sugar in the water, used only 3/4 of the syrup because it was too much for my pan. It still came out nice and gooey. Had to bake an additional 10 mins at increased temp (200 deg C) for the syrup to bubble (probably due to not adding the cornstarch). Yummy out of the oven (even though we got a sugar jolt at 1 am). The sweetness was tempered after the pie went in the fridge overnight. But will try again with more reduced sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe rules! I "healthied it up" by replacing all of the white sugar and 1/2 of the brown sugar with baking Splenda and using whole wheat flour instead of white. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherieberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This apple crisp recipe is the best especially if you like lots of crumble. It is easy to make in large batches, and it freezes and thaws well. This is the only apple crisp recipe I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have used this recipie for 5 years and shared it with many family members. I usually double the oat topping mixture as this is my favorite part. The addition of cloves sounded like a great idea one Christmas, it was not. This is a great staple desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Frost Souza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
WOW!! This was incredible! I mixed the crust ingredients in the food processor because I like the finer texture better. I doubled the recipe and still used a 9x13 pan. I added about 2 tsp cinnamon to the syrup so it was a nice brown color and had a stronger cinnamon flavor. The finished product was SO delicious and smelled wonderful. I've made a lot of apple crisp, but this is my favorite! If you're going to make the recipe as it is written and not double it, please use a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It was good. Nothing amazing, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was yummy. The only things I changed was that I made it in a round pie dish, and cut the white sugar by half. It turned out great, will make again. I agreed that a 9x13 pan would be too thin, that is why I chose the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I used gluten-free all purpose flour instead of regular flour, so I'm sure mine tasted different from everyone else, but it worked very well. The only gluten free oats I could find were steel cut instead of rolled so that changed the texture a little bit, but it also added more crunch. So that's an idea if you like more crunchy topping. I'm surprised that many reviewers thought it didn't have enough crumble. I thought it had quite a lot. I like that the crust is on the bottom too. I think next time I will try a little bit of cloves or nutmeg. Very easy and good. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN-RENEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
WOW. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I doubled this recipe before I read the reviews because I could tell there wasn't going to be enough to fit into the dish. My husband and daughter enjoyed it, but I found the crumble on the top not crumbly enough and it hardened too much while baking. I don't think I'd make it again, I'll search on this site for a different apple crisp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little.mrs.h

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States