Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This apple crisp was great! My husband and I loved it, and I will definitely be making it again soon! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Most apple crisp recipes seem to have as much fat as chocolate cake- I'd rather have the chocolate cake! This one is low-fat and delicious! The topping came out very crunchy- just what I was hoping for. I changed the recipe a bit by using 1/4 c. oats and 3/4 c. flour, as another reviewer suggested. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar because I like the flavor of brown sugar. I didn't feel that cinnamon flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Great! I did one thing wrong though. I should have doubled! IT WAS YUMMY! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Excellent apple crisp! I did add some oats and brown sugar to the topping though. But definitely better than my other recipe for apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
So delicious! I only ended up using about 5 small-medium sized Royal Gala apples since that was all that I had to use up. It all fit nicely in a 9x9 square baking pan (it was of medium thickness-- not too thick). I left the peels on the apples, as suggested by another reviewer. The only other changes I would make next time are to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping b/c I think it would be even more attractive. I would also not hesitate to mix the flour mixture into the apples, rather than just spread it on the very top. My husband helped me to make the flour mixture & had accidentally mixed some of it into the apples before he re-read the directions. We served the apple crisp with Blue Bunny's cinnamon ice cream (a limited flavor for the fall/winter) to accent the spice in the crisp. The combination was marvelous & was not too sweet at all! Leftovers tasted even better the next day after being warmed in the microwave. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Something went horribly horribly wrong with this recipie. The "crumble" part didn't crumble at all. Seems like it needed more butter or something... Also, I probably should've cubed the apples. Still debating if I should just throw the whole mess away, or if there's something I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Easy to make and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Easy enough for beginners and my dad asked for 2nds. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I thought this tasted really good! I only used 4 large apples and I had plenty..I used 3/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup old fashioned oats. Mine didn't really have a "crust" per se, but there were bits and chunks of it which was very crispy and crunchy..loved it. The best part of it was that it was low-fat and healthy for you. I even left the skin on the apples for more nutrients and fiber. Next time I may use all 8 large apples, use a 9 x 13 pan and increase the topping by at least 1 1/2. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My family and I loved this recipe! The topping was so crispy. I will definently make again. It is especially good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States