Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This apple crisp was great! My husband and I loved it, and I will definitely be making it again soon! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Most apple crisp recipes seem to have as much fat as chocolate cake- I'd rather have the chocolate cake! This one is low-fat and delicious! The topping came out very crunchy- just what I was hoping for. I changed the recipe a bit by using 1/4 c. oats and 3/4 c. flour, as another reviewer suggested. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar because I like the flavor of brown sugar. I didn't feel that cinnamon flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Great! I did one thing wrong though. I should have doubled! IT WAS YUMMY! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Excellent apple crisp! I did add some oats and brown sugar to the topping though. But definitely better than my other recipe for apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
So delicious! I only ended up using about 5 small-medium sized Royal Gala apples since that was all that I had to use up. It all fit nicely in a 9x9 square baking pan (it was of medium thickness-- not too thick). I left the peels on the apples, as suggested by another reviewer. The only other changes I would make next time are to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping b/c I think it would be even more attractive. I would also not hesitate to mix the flour mixture into the apples, rather than just spread it on the very top. My husband helped me to make the flour mixture & had accidentally mixed some of it into the apples before he re-read the directions. We served the apple crisp with Blue Bunny's cinnamon ice cream (a limited flavor for the fall/winter) to accent the spice in the crisp. The combination was marvelous & was not too sweet at all! Leftovers tasted even better the next day after being warmed in the microwave. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Something went horribly horribly wrong with this recipie. The "crumble" part didn't crumble at all. Seems like it needed more butter or something... Also, I probably should've cubed the apples. Still debating if I should just throw the whole mess away, or if there's something I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Easy to make and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Easy enough for beginners and my dad asked for 2nds. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I thought this tasted really good! I only used 4 large apples and I had plenty..I used 3/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup old fashioned oats. Mine didn't really have a "crust" per se, but there were bits and chunks of it which was very crispy and crunchy..loved it. The best part of it was that it was low-fat and healthy for you. I even left the skin on the apples for more nutrients and fiber. Next time I may use all 8 large apples, use a 9 x 13 pan and increase the topping by at least 1 1/2. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
My family and I loved this recipe! The topping was so crispy. I will definently make again. It is especially good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States