Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
O.M.G. So good! I needed to adapt the recipe a bit. I used 16 very small but sweet apples from the backyard and baked in a small rectangle stoneware so bigger than 8" square but not 9"X13". The amounts for the topping stayed the same. I did add a bit fresh Meyer Lemon to the apples while I was slicing to keep them from turning but that's the only thing I did different. It came out phenom! Will I make this again??? Absolutely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I baked this up one day and my wife and I loved it.....yumm I followed the recipe and didn't have a problem except running out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I really liked this recipe. This is the only crisp recipe I've tried, where the "crisp" part of the dessert, gets actually crisp, which I like! I don't know if it has something to do w/ the egg or what, but I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made this today with 5 large apples - was too many for the size of the dish - 4 would be perfect. Will make again because it tastes great, but next time, will mix the cinnamon in with the (brown instead of white) sugar and melted butter for the topping. The top was crisp where there was melted butter drizzled, but not where it wasn't. Thanks for a tasty recipe, Sande
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was my first try on something like this and I must say it was good. Especially if you like cinnamon. My dish could only hold about 7 sliced apples and I didn't use the full amount of the cinnamon/sugar sprinkle on top, eyeballed it I guess you could say, otherwise it seemed like it would have been too much. The crisp part was very good, a bit sweet but a great contrast to the apples. Served it with whipped cream, would be great with vanilla ice cream. Not to mention, overall, this was pretty darned easy! Yummy! Was a hit for our Thanksgiving dessert along side that traditional pumpkin pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I changed a lot for this recipe but it's great for beginners. I didn't add baking powder (ran out) and I added only 1/3 cup of flour and 2/3 cup of oats. I added about 3/4 cup only brought brown sugar and walnuts. I added about 3/4 tbsp cinnamon to the topping with an egg and mixed well before adding to apples. With the rest of the cinnamon, I just sprinkled it well over the apples (I had thrown the apples with cinnamon in the oven for about 12 min just to ensure they all baked well). I wish I had nutmeg to add but I loved it. Cinnamon flavour was strong.. Would only add 1 full tbsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a wonderful recipe. However it did not specify what type of apples to use. I used Braeburn because they were on sale and it only took four apples, not eight, and the pan was very full. So I just made a double batch of the topping, put it in two 8 by 8s and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very, very good!!! Wow! That'll be my pie and crust from now on! Only because I'd forgotten to add vanilla extract to my apples, I came up with idea to add it to melted butter on top! I think this is delicious. Must say I used 2 tbsp butter ;) Crust stays very crisp! LOVE THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent! Just what I was looking for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by williebthere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I'll give it 5 stars. It tasted great! Uses ingredients I have on hand! And it doesn't use a stick of butter like most recipes - due to that fact I will be more likely to make it more often. I think the addition of the egg is a brilliant way to get such a crispy crust.. I generally like oats in my topping but I didn't miss them here. I used granny smith apples. Oh one more comment. I thought it was a good topping to fruit ratio - not too much and not too little. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States