Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Made the apple crisp according to the recipe and found it to be just alright; however, I would not serve it to guests. (didn't love the crumb mixture) It tastes ok and is low fat, but I prefer a more traditional apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I've looked for a VERY long time for an apple crisp recipe with a crunchy, almost hard crust like we used to get in the school cafeteria. This one comes close. We like it a lot. I used Honeycrisp apples and they were a bit sweet so I cut down on the sugar and also cut the cinnamon in half since we don't like a strong cinnamon flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Easy, quick, great taste! I personally added rasins and walnuts, which enhanced the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was great! Much better than the one I used to make, and lower fat than any I saw listed. I took the advice of many who reviewed and cut the cinnamon down. I used about 2 teaspoons. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. The topping was crunchy and wonderful! However, mine did not fit an 8x8 pan and I had to use a bigger one. Maybe because my apples were dry, I also had to add 1/4 cup of orange juice to moisten mine up a little at the end. The flavor was great and everyone loved it. Thanks, Sande. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good recipe, with way too much cinn. Other than that I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
The apples were really good, but the crust wasn't. I'd cut down on the cinnimon and put brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I thought this was great. I had a lot of pears, so I was looking for an easy way to use them up. I did not change anything on the topping and I thought it was absolutely perfect! Cooked up crispy, and sweet, and was delicious. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Simone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
12/21/04 Tried this Apple Crisp Recipe today! It is the best crisp topping I have ever made. Yes I will cut down on the cinnamon on top also. This goes fantastic with some whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. What a great dessert! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
My advice is to use less cinnamon. My husband & I agreed that the cinnamon was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe was very easy to make. I too would decrease the amount of cinnamon. All I used cinnamon sugar as a topping and it worked out great. Will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States