Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Turned out great...(I added plums to it as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I just finished making this recipe, and boy was it good! I did tweak the recipe a little though, based on previous reviews I took their advice to come up with something relatively similar. Instead of the ingredients listed above, I used 3 Granny Smith Apples, ¾ cup of all purpose flour, ½ cup white sugar, ¼ cup rolled oats, ½ cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1 egg, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and 1 tablespoon of melted butter. Like the recipe says, I first mixed together the flour, white sugar, egg, and baking powder; only I found the mixture to be a little too dry so I added some water. Then I sliced the apples (I left the skin on and you couldn’t even tell they were there) and mixed them with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. After that I greased an 8x8 pan and spread the apples evenly around the pan. After the apples were in place, I spread the “cornmeal” mixture on the apples and then topped it with a mixture of 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, the brown sugar, and rolled oats. Finally I topped the whole thing with the melted butter. The pie tasted DELICIOUS!! And it was indeed low-fat. I think I may have used slightly too much cinnamon but other than that it was GREAT! Thanks for the recipe, it was so easy!! I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made it, but it did not come out very good. The top was really hard, and it just tasted bland and eh. Not making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe is super tasty! I always double the amount of butter that I drizzle over the top, but it is awesome. My husband LOVES this stuff and he doesn't usually eat sweets. It's very easy and doesn't require a lot of ingredients. I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Easy and delicious, perfect for a cool fall evening! We topped it with vanilla custard and my husband can't wait for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was NO good. Definatley will stick to the traditional style crisp next time!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I tried this recipe for Apple Crisp and it is great hot or cold. I have limited hand movement and with this recipe you dont need to make the Pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Aux Basques, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Cape Ray, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I must admit that even though I have tasted quite a few apple crisp, this was my first time making one. I added soft butter to the apples along with the melted butter for the topping. And because I really wanted that extra crispy taste, i spinkled instant oats on the top. it was goog but next time I want to and nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This recipe was really good, my family devoured it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States