Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This isn't your traditional apple crisp, but it is very good and fairly healthy. First of all, only use 4-5 apples for an 8 inch dish, depending on the size of apple. You do not need 8 apples for an 8 in. dish! As suggested by others, decrease the flour to 3/4 cup and add 1/4 cup of oats. I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. It definitely has a hard, crunchy top, but it tastes good. I suggest taking a knife and poking the surface of the topping to break it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very tasty and simple dessert. Don't crumble the butter too fine, leaving it in pieces is what gives you the 'crunch'. Also super with fresh peaches too. Don't forget the vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I don't usually review, but I just have to say that this recipe is not very good. I made it according to the instructions and it came out horribly. The apples were dry and the topping was soggy and gross. Sorry, but it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
very good I will make this again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was not at all what I expected. The overall appearance was not attractive. The egg/flour/sugar mixture was wet and runny. the only thing that improved it was the addition of Ben and Jerry's ice cream on top. I know now to stick with the "Joy of Cooking" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was great and my guests agreed...most went for seconds! I used a combination of Granny Smith and Cortland apples and I added a little lemon juice when I was mixing the apples and cinnamon. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
It tastes delicious but it wasn't what I was expecting of apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Graham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe and it didn't turn out. The flour mixture just sat on the top of the apples. I added over a cup of (hot) water while baking and increased the temp and time and it turned out ok. I think there are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
It did indeed taste really amazing but nothing about it was crispy which was a complete let down. I added some oats because I remember putting some in when I took cooking in high school, I think this added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Easy to make, very tasty. I took it to a social gathering and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haledon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States