Apple Crisp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I really didn't like the way the crust tasted the oatmeal tasted strange to me and it didn't have enough flavour. I wouldn't do this one again needed cinnamon or nutmeg or both and it just was a little off for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlita C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Wow! Brilliant idea to improvise rolled oats for instant oatmeal! I had cinnamon flavor and used honey crisp apples. Delicious for this first day of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe makes the very best apple crisp ever. Everyone loves the topping and best of all it so simple to prepare. This is the only recipe I use now for my family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
First note: I doubled this recipe to take to a potluck. That said, I tweaked mine (as I usually do) by adding about 2 tablespoons more sugar and 2 tablespoons more butter, plus less flour by about 1/4 cup and I cheated (lol) by using Quaker instant oatmeal that already had nuts (raisin, date, and walnut flavor, to be exact). By using more butter and less flour, I could 'pat' the topping on to be sure to cover all the apples fully and it baked up perfectly in about 55 mins. I also omitted the maple syrup because I thought the additional sugar (plus whatever flavoring was in the instant oatmeal) would be sufficient. Both dishes I brought were large (15x10 or 12) and were scraped clean in under 90 minutes! And no, there wasn't more than say 25 people (max) at this potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Everyone in the family loved it including my 20 month old! I followed a tip from another reviewer and added cinnamon on top. Next time I think I will try it with peach as another reviewer mentioned! I didn't even peel the apples it wasn't necessary but I used a mixture of Gala & Fuji.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! I substituted pecans for walnuts, added a touch of apple pie spice and drizzled caramel topping over the top instead of maple syrup. Perfect recipe for my boyfriend and son who do not care a lot for chocolate desserts. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook1986

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Made this the other night for my Husband, Son and Father-in-law. They all LOVED it and it's now it's in my recipe binder. I did add cinnamon as recommended on one of the reviews. The maple and nuts gives it wonder flavor and makes the topping nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was an excellent dessert to make. It was so tasty. Usually I don't care to much for some apple desserts but I had left over apples that were on the verge of wrinkling so I decided to make this. I am glad I did and would make it again. I followed the recipe exactly but I did sprinkle cinnamon on top because what is an apple dessert without cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Seemed to like, but they seemed to like the simple cinnamon and sugar easy recipe just as much. Maybe try again with the changes in the notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Thank you this is just what I wanted! five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States