Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe needed four to five apples to fill the cups full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
These were delicious! I used Granny Smith apples and topped them with a caramel drizzle to jazz them up a bit. I did substitute apple juice for the water and the apples turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
These were fabulous! Will be high on my list for pot-lucks and for impressing guests. I used Winesap apples since I had them on hand. Easy to make, too. I did use my food processor to mix the dough, but mostly because of the oats. I also used the little tamping tool from Pampered Chef to fill & shape the cups, and the Pampered Chef apple peeler/corer/slicer to cut the apples. Everything went super-fast that way. It's all about having the right tools, whether PC or not. I agree that measurements (i.e., 2 cups vs 3 large apples) would be helpful. I had so much dough left that I cooked up another half batch of filling. (I made the last batch is full-size muffin pans, just going up about half way, they are fabulous too.) Learn from my mistake... it says 'grease the pans'... do it! I figured with all that butter it probably wasn't necessary. Decided to grease one of them as an experiment. Made a big difference in being able to get my treats out of the cups easily. (I chilled them and got all but a few out perfectly, just carefully.) Oh, and in response to the negative reviewer who said there was too much butter... nope, not at all (perhaps operator error or she cheaped-out and used margarine). That is the same ratio of fat-to-flour as a traditional pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Time consuming and a tad tedious. I made the crust and filling first day and assembled the next. I used 4 large macintosh apples to be sure I had enough, my tablespoon is totally round so filled muffin tins via that and my melon baller to fill them. I used up all the ingredients to make 48. Apparently they didn't stand a chance once container was open. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ben's mama
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These are so good! Took them to the office for Halloween today. I thought they were a little difficult to "cut in the butter". I do not have a pastry cutter (never heard of it) nor a food processor. So pressing the crust into the tin was difficult, powdery. I was going to give up, but when the first batch came out, it was scrumptious! So I was determined to make it work. What I did was melt about 1/4c of butter and poured it in the crusty mix, that made it more moldable. These are fantastic and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben's mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very good! Only used 2 sticks butter. Added a few tablespoons apple sauce to apple mixture after warming apples. Also added 4 Kraft caramel bits to each muffin tin. Made some mini, made some regular muffin size. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Tastes amazing. I would not grease the pan like the recipe states. Next time I will use less butter, it was a little too greasy. I used honey crisp apples and one cortland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
These little gems are delicious!…I used apple juice in place of the water which was a valuable suggestion from the recipe submitter…thank you weeble! Knowing that my family likes a stronger flavour of cinnamon and nutmeg I added extra… I really wish I had made more because I think they would be great to have on hand in the freezer…they don't last long if left in sight…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved this! Here are the changes I made based on personal preference: I don't like really sweet desserts so I added a little less sugar. I also followed other reviewers advice and reduced the amount of crust, using only 1.5 cups of flower & oats, etc., and 1/2 the amount of butter. I found I didn't have quite enough crust so I'll adjust next time. I loved the suggestion about cutting the butter in pieces, freezing it, and then "cutting it" in a blender (before oats). Worked like a charm and saved lots of time and arm work. For posters who said their apples were too mushy when they cooked them beforehand, keep in mind this all depends on the type of apple you use. I used firm apples meant for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NicoleBultinck
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made these today for the first time. Love this recipe, thank you!! I didn't have rolled oats on hand, but had Better Oats cinnamon roll oatmeal. I removed the sugar chunks/sifted and used that instead. Cooked 30-35 minutes. So good!!! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States