Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
hello. i'm the submitter of this recipe. i forgot to add an important side note to this recipe. if i have apple juice on hand, i'll use it in place of the water. i find that it adds another layer of flavour and sweetness to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are delicious! I have become a HUGE fan of these little treats. They are the perfect little dessert! I have made these many times since I discovered this recipe. The thing that makes it so perfect is that you can make the crisp part and the filling part ahead of time and refrigerate it. Put together the cups and filling just before you need them. Bake them as directed. However, the *best* thing is that you can actually make them, bake them and then freeze them. They are actually *perfect* this way and taste exactly the same as freshly baked and cooled. Pop them out on the counter just a little while before a party or guests coming. I keep them in the freezer now because you can actually defrost them in the microwave, too, in just a few seconds. They are great to have on hand. I do cut down on the butter by about 1/3, but other than that these are the absolutely perfect little treat. Thanks, Weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Joe's nani
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
REALLY awesome! I only had honeycrisp apples on hand and those worked beautifully. It IS a bit labor intensive, pressing the crust into all those little tins, but so worth it in the end. Tip on making the crust easier - cube your cold butter up and put it in the freezer. Put all of the crust mixture except the oats into your food processor, then add the frozen butter. Pulse until resembles coarse crumbs. Transfer to a big bowl and then mix in the oats. MUCH faster than cutting it in and distributes beautifully. I made these exactly as described but did add a little vanilla to the apples. Very delicious. Took longer than stated to cook, about 30 minutes. Ultimately I put the broiler on to brown the tops better. I will make these often in the fall. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe's nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This had to be the best apple crisp I have ever had! I love the idea of making them bite size, because you get all the crunchy goodness of the crisp topping. The only thing is it was very time consuming, but oh so worth it. I made them in mini and regular size muffin pans and both were equally good. I did have to chop up and cook more apples, but I'm sure it's because of the varying sizes of apples. Thanks weeble for sharing this recipe that is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made these before they got published, so I thought I would transfer my review over : These are awesome Weeble! Let me start by saying I didn't quite follow the recipe. I halved it, thinking, I don't have that many pans. Not realizing it was mini muffins. So I made big ones! I am trying to use apples out of the freezer, so I had already cooked them in the microwave. I just add butter, sugar, brown sugar, apple pie spice, and cinnamon after draining some of the water off. That was when I remembered your recipe, so I used the crust part. I realized they were supposed to be mini's when I tried to take them out of the pan, LOL! That would work much better holding together, but I got them cooled enough, put a cookie sheet over the pan, flipped them out and they held together. Tastes so good!I'll do the mini crisps next time, I still have more apples! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I used silicon mini cupcake molds and had to cook a bit longer - also used margarine instead of butter and they came out too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I've always loved the crumble part of apple crumble the best. Yummy apple bites completely incased in crumble!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is delicious. My amounts didn't quite add up to four dozen, just two, so I'm not sure what happened there. I topped this with a simple confection sugar glaze and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wow, these are great. Just took them out of the oven. Only made one mini pan full. Had a little crust left so I patted it down in a 8 x 8 pan, saving a small amount for the topping. Then put the left over apples on top and crumbled the last bit of topping on top. Baked it about 25 minutes. The ONLY thing that could possibly make these better would be chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These are just the cutest, tastiest little things! Keeping a mental note about having extra crust, I reduced the flour and oats to 1 1/2 cups, brown sugar to 1 cup and butter to 1 cup. As it turned out, I only had enough apple mixture from 3 apples to fill 2 dozen mini-muffin tins and still had crust leftover (no worries - I'll keep it in the fridge and use to fill baked apples at some point). These are adorable and delicious and easy - I was afraid they would stick to the pan, but no! No trouble at all removing them! They're wonderful - thanks weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States