Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
My kids loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a truly wonderful recipe! I had everything on hand and the little cups came out perfect. I'm not a very advanced baker but the finished product made me feel like this is something I could bring to any public event and be proud of! The only thing I changed was a little lemon juice in with the apples and I doubled the amound of apples. I can see myself making this over and over again for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clessard
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicous, but had difficulty shaping the mini cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are great. They take a little time to make, but are so good. I wonder how it would be cut back on the butter just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It was almost impossible to form a bottom crust in the mini muffin cups though I gave up after one tray. Quite a mess - The flavor was good, but concept wast not. Three apples was not enough filling and if any of the apple filling cooked out, it made them difficult to remove from the muffin cups. I'll be making regular fruit crisp with the remainder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I enjoyed these - I used only 1 cup of butter, subbed honey for sugar with the apples, used whole wheat pastry flour and cut the sugar back in the crisp part to 1 1/3. Next time I'll cut the sugar WAY back and try some honey. I will also use the food processor to cut in the butter as some others have recommended - I had already added the oats before I realized what a hassle that was going to be. I was a little worried about how these were going to come out of the pan, but they popped out easily and stayed in one piece - and I just greased with a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
One reviewer used peaches. I haven't tried that yet but I think you could also use the chunky style applesauce for filling or maybe canned pears with cinnamon or nutmeg added to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
***Update*** My original post was written right after I made these but, now a few days later let me just say that these are DELICIOUS! Rewarmed in the microwave, these little crisps are like heaven! They are beyond addicting, especially at just over 100 calories per cup :) Highly recommended!! *Original post*** This is delicious! Just like little apple pies. The next time, I would leave the oats out as they didnt add anything to the recipe. I only used 1 cup of butter and mixed the crumbs by hand. I actually softened the butter in the microwave, this helped the crumbs to form better (or so I thought.) These are a great low calorie filling dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These were pretty labor intensive for a "just okay" dessert. They are definitely better warm. Once they cool they aren't so great. I had a lot of crust mixture leftover, even after making a second batch of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
First of all, I cheated this recipe because i had a can of apple pie filling (chopped) i needed to clean out of the cabinet. I used the big can (about 17oz) for 2 dozen of these. I took some of the suggestions, and used softened butter in the flour/oat shell. This was great, except that I ended up needing to make another 1/4 recipe of the topping to have any to cover the filling. I used exactly 1 T of crust per tart, 1 tsp of chopped up apple pie filling, and then about 1 tsp of filling on top of that. I cooked mine for about 18 min, but they really needed a few extra min because they weren't quite as crispy as I'd hoped. These were cute, great reheated or not, and my mom at a bunch topped with vanilla ice cream. This is a cute and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States