Apple Crisp Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Although this recipe looks delicious (and it truly is!), you had best make sure you thoroughly grease your muffin pan. And I mean, coat it until it drips. Otherwise, there's no chance of the cups coming out of the tin easily. I made them in regular muffin size tins, and as per a previous comment, flipped the pan upside down as soon as it came out of the oven. I beat on the bottom of each tin to encourage the cups to fall, then let them sit to cool. 10 minutes later, I raised the pan. 5 were out of the tin, and the other half either remained in the pan, or broke in the middle. I believe next time I will coat the pan in oil, and not invert the pan as I found that a spoon would easily pop them out when they were cool. These two complaints aside, the cups had an excellent flavor and texture. I will definately attempt them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This dessert turned out pretty good! I did double the filling as per previous reviewers and ended up making 5 dozen of these apple crisp cups! I used a mixture of Jonagold and granny smith. My taste testers really enjoyed trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These little treats are quite tasty, but a little time consuming as other have stated. Cutting the butter into the dry ingredients was the most difficult part for me. I also only had enough apples to make about 24, so next time I will increase the amount of apples I use from 3 to 5 or 6. A great little dessert, but not for those who want something quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Why, oh why did I wait so long to try these?!?! I've seen them bouncing around on the Exchange/Buzz for a couple months now, but never got around to giving them a try until this morning. I wanted a special little treat to share with the few of my co-workers who decided not to take a four-day weekend (yesterday was a holiday for us) and decided to make these. Holy cow, are they ever good!! I cut the recipe in half and used two medium-sized Gala apples, which was the perfect amount of apple for 24 mini-cups. The best part about these little gems is that I always have all of the ingredients on hand, so I can whip out a batch of them whenever I want. The assembly is a little time consuming, but not too bad. I was able to get these prepped, assembled, and baked in less than an hour total. I removed them from the mini muffin tin by putting my cutting board over top of it and then flipping the whole thing over. They popped right out and held their shape nicely, even though I had to take them out of the pan before they were really cool enough. My co-workers are enjoying them immensely and have already asked if I'll bring these for our Thanksgiving potluck next week! Thanks for a great, simple treat, weeble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Time consuming, but wonderful! I used 4 apples & it turned out perfect, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
a lot of work but anytime I make these they are gone withing 24 hours, we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very tasty. I cut the butter down to 1 1/4 c. The next time I'll probably cut it all the way down to 1 c. Even with the decreased amount, they still held together very well but were almost a little greasy. I increased the apple mixture since there were complaints about the crust to apple ratio. I used two large granny smiths and three small gala. I would definitley make these again, but would allow more time for preparation. The process of forming the crust into the cups was surprisingly tedious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are great! Rave reviews and recipe requests when I took them to a potluck at work. They are a little time consuming but worth it. I went online the next day to buy a "mini tart shaper" from The Pampered Chef. Can't wait to get it so I can try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
although the idea of this recipe sounded delicious, when it was done, i was wishing i made a real apple crisp pie instead. there was just too much crisp on the bottom (my fault, i know) and not enough apples. plus, i didnt really like the taste of the crisp either. not really a fan of using oats in a crisp. gives it too much of an oatmeal taste to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Awesomw little things and easy. I suggest making more filling. I felt like I was measuring it out too much and actually made about half more of it. They turned out great and I guess that kept me from putting in too much filling. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States