Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
I made this for Christmas this year, it was my first pie. I cannot tell you how well it went over with my family! I added a brown sugar and oatmeal topping on it and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Yummy! A new twist to apple pie. Very easy & the family thinks you spent hours in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I'm sooo glad I found this recipe. It tastes like Apple pie ALA Mode. I'm also glad i read the reviews first. I divided the ingredients among two 9 inch pies shells. I didn't have any problems with overflow or the cream "setting".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I adjusted the half-and-half to 1 cup and did not mix the butter with it, instead just used cold butter and added the dollops to the apples. Added a simple crumb topping....excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taft, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My husband said this is the best pie I ever made, and I make a lot of pies. I used Granny Smith apples and increased the sugar slightly, as they were very tart. The very rich butter crust (Martha Stewart recipe) didn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
The cook time was alot longer for me. I also added cornstarch to the cream mixture otherwise it will be liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made this pie this year for a change from my standard sour cream apple pie recipe. I took the advice of halving the liquid and I always add more apples. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Really good! Very delicious but a tad too sweet for me so I think next time I'll reduce the amount of sugar. Great with some vanilla ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really should have listened to the ratings BUT I am a sucker for creamy fatening things like half & half. Over all the pie was ok I was a little dissapointed in the soup and water and the mess!!! Something was definately left out of the recipe!! But it made the crust taste WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
After reading the reviews I figured I would try this recipe. I put the filling into 2 pie shells. Had to bake the pies for an extra 15 minutes so that they would set. When I finally tried a piece.. I was VERY disappointed. I found that the pie had very little flavour. I will definitely stick to a more traditional pie. This was not worth using 2 cups of half and half cream which can be very costly where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States