Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Complete silence descended on the table as folks dug in to this dessert! It was so delicious for fall. I changed a couple things--added 2 extra pears, so therefore increased the rest of the ingredients (except apples) by 50%. I didn't have walnuts, so used pecans. One tip is to mix the topping ingredients in the food processor--just pulse until it looks like coarse crumbs--fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
A VERY good crisp recipe. Feel free to play around with the ingredients. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added 1 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added orange juice and orange zest. This is one of those recipes that I don't feel you can go wrong with. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Nice combination - I like the different textures of apple and pear (I used Granny Smith and D'Anjou because that's what I had). Needs some spices, though, cinnamon, nutmeg or a combination. I've tweaked this several times and my favorite included cinnamon in the topping, pecans instead of walnuts and I used fresh cranberries, not dried. I spiced & sweetened them up by simmering 1 cup cranberries in about 3/4 cup water, the honey and a cinnamon stick and a couple strips of orange peel studded with whole cloves. Stirred that mixture (removing stick, peel & cloves) in with the apples and pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This was a great recipe-I used Golden Delicious apples when I made it. Next time I make it, I will definitely serve it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I've tried many crisp recipes but this one's right up there at the top. I used fresh raspberries instead of cranberries as that's what I had on hand. I like the idea of cubing the fruit instead of slicing it. I found the fruit held its shape nicely and didn't turn into mush. The crumb topping was flavourful and definitely added to the taste of the dessert. Next time, I'll make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
We enjoyed this crisp and it is simple to make, but I think next time I will use fewer cranberries and nuts. There are a lot of flavors and textures going on here. My husband said "this is good, but I like plain apple crisp better"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I tried this recipe for our office Christmas dinner and it was wonderful! Very easy, flavorful, fruity and not too sweet. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This recipe is by far the best one I've tried for a Crisp. It has just the right amount of everything- I once mixed dried cherries in as well. Everyone I have served this to has loved it- even the GUYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Even though I used what I had on hand (very ripe bartlett pears, gala apples, and extremely dessicated dried cranberries), it turned out quite tasty. Next time, I'll try some baking apples, firmer pears, and fresher cranberries. I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This was really good, quick, and easy, and I used the pears from my tree. I used delicious apples, because that was all I had at the time. I must admit, however, that I did add cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg to the fruit. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. The only bad part was that I did not have any vanilla ice cream to go over this warm delicious crisp, but is disappeared anyway. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States