Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Had to add more flour because I didnt have any walnuts and more oatmeal to make it crumbly enough... I put a bit more honey because I used fresh cranberries. and a dash of cinnamon. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was fantastic! I took the recommendation of several commenters and added cinnamon and nutmeg. I used 1/2 tsp. in the fruit and about the same in the topping. I think next time I will use a full teaspoon with the fruit. The best part of this recipe experiment was the next morning when I warmed it up and used it as a topping for pancakes (along with the usual syrup) and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Close to the best thing I've ever eaten and SOOO easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Virtually effortless & amazing! If you can cut fruit, you can make this - that simple. My husband eats fruit but would not be considered a fruit lover, but he raves about this. I included it in my Thanksgiving menu this year and will serve it as our son's 2nd birthday party too (per husband's request). I usually substitute healthier ingredients in my dishes so next time I'll try whole wheat flour and sprinkle wheat germ on topping to increase nutritional value. As with most of my recipes, I reduced the sugar when I made a whole tray of this. Sweetness of fruit and honey was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This ain't your momma's apple crisp. I found this one while trying to find mom's old apple & oatmeal crisp. I was blown away as was the whole clan at Thanksgiving. Add I did was use whatever apples and pears I liked and were available at my local supermarket. Then I added a shot of Gran Marnier to the fruit mixture. Booze makes every holiday a little cheerier, and that's a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was good but needs some spice. I forgot to add some in the fruit mixture, but did sprinkle cinnamon on the topping before putting it in the oven. Next time I will use cinnamon and nutmeg in the fruit mixture. Maybe even allspice. One question, though? Where can you find rome beauty apples an comice pears? I used gala apples and bartlett pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Married_Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I followed the other suggestions and added some spices to the apple mix and the crumble topping. Also I used agave instead of honey, and it came out great!! Very simple and very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good and slightly tart. The honey and lemon juice add a nice flavor. I used raisins because that is what I had on hand. I'll try fresh cranberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Amazing! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was craving a warm apple dessert to go with some vanilla ice cream we had in our freezer and my husband agreed, so I made this late in the evening. I just happened to have a bunch of apples, a pear, and some dried cranberries that I didn't know what else to do with, so this recipe was almost perfect. I used 4 small/medium apples. One minute after popping it into the oven, I realized/wondered why the recipe didn't have any cinnamon or other spices that I think are essential to this sort of dish, so I quickly checked other reviews and sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg on top. Next time I'll stir it in with the apples. Also, when using my pastry blender to make the crumb topping, the walnuts and oats made it a little difficult, so next time I'll probably try mixing the flour, sugar and butter first, and then working in the nuts and oats toward the end. The end result was very yummy, and the perfect thing on a cold, fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States