Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It's in the oven (so more to come), but here's how it went: Subbed 2 Grannys & used canned pears (purpose of this recipe was to use them up so there! ;D). 'Used a large can, 29oz?, except for 2 halves. 'Went with the suggestion of 2/3c topping ingredients - without the nuts. 'Didn't feel like digging out the crystallized honey so subbed with molasses. Wild thing, I know. 'Only had 1/3c dried cranberries. Since the pears were canned/wet, I increased flour to 2T. Beautiful before the topping!Results: 'Think the recommended amount of topping would've been fine. This is one of those recipes that "needs" ice cream - or less sugar maybe. The molasses gave it a somewhat spice taste, in a positive way. Incidentally, molasses has less sugar per T than honey so keep that in mind if you don't want it too sweet. 'Can't distinguish between the apples & pears so I may just have a secret fiber source here & use only pears! :O :D This is good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
So fabulous and delicious. Only changes I did was to throw in a few peaches and double the recipe. You won't be disappointed with this one :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
For whatever reason, I LOVE this! I made this recipe and it was gone in less than 24 hours (yes, I played a key role in gobbling it all up), and made a second one the next night. There isn't anything super fancy about it, but sometimes it's the simple things that add up to something amazing. Have been craving a cobbler, and this is it! Personal favorite is using 3 pears and 1 apple with 1 tsp cinnamon added to the diced fruit. Give it a try, great alone, with ice cream and fresh whipped cream- mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is absolutely a keeper in my house! The recipe is a great blueprint for a crisp, but very forgiving and allows for experimentation. I read several reviews and used 2/3 cup of each of the dry ingredients, but kept only 1/2 cup butter and the topping was fabulous! I used 3 small Braeburn apples, and 3 large D'anjou pears (as that's what I had on hand) and, looking for a substitute for the cranberries, I threw in a handful of frozen blackberries. I also added a little cinnamon to the fruit, and served it warm with vanilla ice cream--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was gret easy! I added a little ground cinnamon & about 1/4 C flaked coconut, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe, quick and easy to make, but after the first time I made it following the recipe exactly, it was a greasy mess. Cut the butter in half and it's perfect. I also add a little spice (cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg are all nice). Serve with vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Good, but not wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Took this to a potluck it was so delicious. Didn't even need vanilla ice cream, it was great on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved this dish. Subbed raspberries for cranberries and served hot with ice cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States