Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Fantastic recipe. A few slight modifications, based on what was available. I increased the apple and pears, but didn't use cranberries. The apples were 2 golden delicious, and 1 granny smith, with 3 ripe bartlett pears. I tried this before in a shallow pan, and it didn't seem to turn out as well. This time, I baked it in a deeper bread pan, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I added spices as suggested by others. I used Granny Smith apples, they were pretty hard, so I steamed them for 10 min before adding them to the soft ripe pears. I took a double sized batch to work and it disappeared fast. Good recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
excellent. especially with added cinnamon and nutmeg. doubled the recipe and whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
So I've been making this recipe for about eight years now. All my friends and family ask for it every holiday now. I've done it with cranberrys and cherrys, both are great. I pretty much always double and a half the whole recipe and do it in a 9x13. I try to use all organic ingredients when possible, I know it tastes better that way!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is my favorite fall recipe. I also add dried cherries and chopped dried apricots for a little extra tanginess. I am always asked to bring this to social functions. A real comfort food. Make a day ahead and top with a small scoop of quality vanilla ice cream before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is an outstanding way to make a special anytime treat for your family! The crushed walnuts in the crumb topping really make it a hit and complement the fruit mixture so nicely! Thank you for this! I've made it quite a few times throughout this past month and will definitely save this recipe as a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Roberts Goolsby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was AWESOME! It will for sure be my go-to recipe for crisp. You can just use whatever you have around the house too- I had used 2 pears, 2 red apples, pecans, and raisins. My family ate it with vanilla bean icecream on top, and raved about it. I really think it is the perfect dessert for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epeacock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I doubled this recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I left the peelings on the fruits (a personal preference) and used craisins. The pears added a nice texture, and the cranberries made it colorful. I used half Granny Smith apples and half Braeburn Apples. Next time I'll try McIntosh, and also I'll try fresh cranberries cooked down with the honey like another post recommended. Definitely serve with whipped cream or vanilla icecream. Thanks for the recipe and the helpful tips in other posts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This turned out really nice! But I like cinnamon with apple desserts, so I added 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon apple pie spice to the mixture; and a sprinkle of cinnamon to the crust. I couldn't find Rome Beauties at the store, so I used Granny Smiths and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preacher Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The ratio of butter, sugar, flour & oats did not produce the kind of topping texture I like in a 'crisp'. The filling was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States