Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I didn't change a single thing in making this because there was really no need to. My whole family absolutely LOVED it!! It was gone in less then a day! Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn_is_L84Work
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
love this recipe. Changes I made based upon what I had at the time: golden delicious apples No cranberries Used pecans instead of walnuts I also decrease the butter by 1/2 (1/2 cup just seemed too much) Used organic sugar instead of brown sugar. Still delicious. This is one recipe that will stay in rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chloe
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was a very tasty crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I usually read the reviews before I try a recipe but not this time. I knew it would be "right on" and it was!!! The first words out of my husband's mouth was "this is good enough to serve to company". I love the simplicity of it yet elegant enough for company. A big winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this tonight because I had a bunch of aged pears to use up. I loved it -- with some changes. I used all pears (sliced, not cubed) and used fresh cranberries instead of dried. I pulsed the cranberries in the food processor a couple times and tossed them with the pears, and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. I omitted the lemon juice. As for the topping, I halved the butter, flour, brown sugar and oats. Also omitted the nuts (out of sheer laziness)and put a bit of cinnamon in for good measure. The result was fantastic - not too sweet - and the cranberry flavor really put it over the top. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Not too sweet. I did cut back a bit on the butter--I used 3/4 c in a doubled recipe. I knew making as is it would be wiped out in the blink of an eye! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Excellent! I've made it with all apples and with apples and cranberries as well. Use half the amount of butter the full amount just isn't necessary. Delicious! I've also made it with gluten free oatmeal and flour with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was good, but needed a few changes. To make it healthier, use half the butter. A half cup is excessive, and it really doesn't need it. Used rolled oats, instead of quick cooking. It doesn't make a huge difference in the texture, and it's healthier. Also, I prefer leaving the skin on for better nutrition, if the texture bothers you (I don't think it's a big deal) leave the pears unpeeled, since they have thinner skin and won't be too bothersome texture wise and peel the apples. Also, so long as your fruit is nice and sweet, you really can cut the sugar and honey some. Also, adding cinnamon to food makes it TASTE sweeter without adding any actual sugar. Plus, this recipe really needs it. Cinnamon and a little ground ginger or its boring. I know. Tried both ways. It's lovely with some plain yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Needless to say, I didn't have the same types of pears (had over-ripe anjou's I needed to use) or apples (golden delicious were on sale) and cranberries still in the freezer. Everything else per recipe (which I doubled, in a 9x13 dish). Super, SUPER easy and good! Next time I hope I have vanilla ice cream in the house too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I really like the pears and apples together. I had three pears, one was really ripe and the others weren't as much. I think the under ripe pears turned out better, the ripe one was a little mushy. I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the fruit and only 1 tablespoon of honey. I think fruit is usually sweet enough and doesn't need added sugar. Next time i might just leave it out since the crust is sweet enough. I also would leave out the cranberries, they didn't really add much. And I only used 6 tablespoons butter which seemed like plenty! Next time might try with only 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States