Apple-Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is really good. I made it for Thanksgiving. I had rave reviews. I put the dressing on the whole salad and regretted it. If it is not eaten with in an hour or so it gets slimey. The flavor was excellent. Also a few previous reviewers mentioned that the dressing was to much and I'd like to say that you have to use balsamic vinegar and stone ground mustard. Balsamic vinegar is milder then other vinegars. That may be why others found the dressing to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I tweeked this somewhat. I didn't have pears so I omitted them. I didn't have blue cheese so I used feta cheese. It was a big success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
"Great salad!" was H's comment about this one (and I make a lot of great salads, so he's no sucker). The dressing IS strong, so you probably don't want all of it. If you're going to toss it as instructed, just use a small amount to start. I drizzled it over the salad and had it on the side for people to add more if they wanted. Fruit, balsamic and blue cheese is always big hit with me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
The taste of the dressing was not what we expected. It was very strong. It over powered the sweet taste of the apples and cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I couldn't wait to try your recipe since you said it was great. The dressing tasted very good, but the salad turned wilted before I could get it on the table (less than 3 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is the perfect salad - I do make this from time to time, although I use a little less mustard and add some sugar or honey to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judyshome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Really enjoyed this salad. Great flavor and texture. Perfect light salad for summer. I used Feta instead of blue cheese and I might add a litte red onion next time around. But all in all really liked this and would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
One of my favorite salads. LOVE the dressing. I used romaine cause that's what I had on hand, and omitted the apple cause it just didn't need it. The pear was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Skip the mustard dressing and make a simple balsamic and it gets five stars. I've even added sliced steak for a main course. Use Paul Newmans light balsamic in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
The dressing is amazing - my new favorite. Just served this at a dinner with grilled chicken and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States