Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Really good! I made it for thanksgiving, but instead of whole cranberries, I used jellied cranberries (homemade), a little more liquidy, but calmed the tartness without killing it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I brought it to a party and it was a hit. Everyone liked it and upon my solicitation, had comments for tweaking the recipe based on their personal liking for cranberries. The recipe is forgiving regarding amounts. Followed directions but inadvertently added a few extra apples (I used Jonagold). I also chopped up a portion of the cranberries and left the rest whole. The chopped cranberries "disappeared" into the apples. The whole cranberries were more beautiful - but tart for those unfamiliar with cranberries in desserts. Next time I will leave more of the cranberries whole. By the way, even if I followed the recipe exactly, I think the crisp calls for a larger baking dish than 8x8. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This was a delicious way to use the plentiful fall apples. I used walnuts and macintosh apples because that was what I had on hand. It smelled soooo good cooking in the oven. Very good seved with Vanilla ice cream. Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe. The cranberries added a tartness that made it perfect. The only thing I found I didn't like was the amount of apples. Too many apples, too little topping, but I like the topping, so will cut back on the apples next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Served this to company with roast pork loin.The apples and cranberries are tart and deliccoooous and not just for holidays. Will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I love this recipe! The tartness of the cranberries adds a great twist to this classic dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
We've been making this recipe for over 20 years for Thanksgiving and it is without a doubt one of our favorites. It would not be Thanksgiving without this sweet, tart hot dish! We've had to start making a double batch to make sure that some would be left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is delicious. At first I thought there was too much cinammon, but after it baked and was all bubbly and the apple and cranberry juices mixed with the cinammon, it was wonderful!The topping was perfect--I was out of nuts, so omitted them--and it was still good. I wouldn't change a thing. By the way, the recipe doesn't specify whether or not to chop up the cranberries, don't---they would almost disappear if you did---they sort of "explode" as they bake, and make wonderful juice--and still contribute to the texture of the dish. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACINDARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
The basis of this recipe is great however I modified a few things just as a matter of convenience. I used two cans of canned apples and one bag of cranberries (same area you would find raisins in at grocery store). instead of fresh. Due to the sugar already in the canned apples I omitted the white sugar from the recipe. I also used sliced almonds instead of pecans. This was a wonderful quick dessert that everyone loved. I served with cool whip. Would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I made this for company one night and they told me it was the best crisp they've ever had! The fresh cranberries made this recipe. I cut the cinnamon down by half to 1 1/2 tsp and that was plenty. I only had a handful of sliced almonds so I threw them in the topping instead of pecans. Will definitely make again... also made it with spartan apples and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States