Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is delicious. At first I thought there was too much cinammon, but after it baked and was all bubbly and the apple and cranberry juices mixed with the cinammon, it was wonderful!The topping was perfect--I was out of nuts, so omitted them--and it was still good. I wouldn't change a thing. By the way, the recipe doesn't specify whether or not to chop up the cranberries, don't---they would almost disappear if you did---they sort of "explode" as they bake, and make wonderful juice--and still contribute to the texture of the dish. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACINDARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this for a Christmas dinner. It won many compliments, however it really was at its finest when it was cold. Delicious! I should've served it cold instead of reheating it before serving. I changed the amount of crisp, quadrupled it actually! Gotta love the crisp! I even baked it in a 9x13 dish since wanted more crisp than filling and, honestly, was out of dishes. This turned out to be a bit of a wrong turn. My insanity resulted in the filling just being a thin little layer at the bottom. I will definitely make this again, but next time I will bake it in a 9x9 or similar dish. Will I quadruple the crisp again? Heck yeah! I might even add more cranberries. They were great and just so few! Oh, and I threw in a handful of orange craisins, the kind you buy in a bag in the raisin area of the grocery store for a little bit of orange zesty juiciness. This recipe is a dream with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the recipe. I'm hungry for some right now, but all leftovers were gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Great! As per other reviewers, I made extra crisp for the top (maybe an extra half recipe) and I probably could have made it as per the recipe. FYI - I used 4 apples, as many people weren't sure how many apples was 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
What a hit! I used three large Granny Smith apples and twice the amount of cranberries. Another reviewer said that she thought that the recipe called for too much cinnamon...but once she baked it she realized it was perfect. I agree, as I was adding the cinnamon it seemed like a lot...but in the baking it adds a terrific flavor! I also doubled the amount of the topping which was perfect. One thing that I may do next time is add more quick oats...to make the topping crunchier! A+ This one is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Delicious! I split up the mixture among four ramekins and baked at 375º for about 25 minutes. The taste and texture were both phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was heavenly! I loved the rich, tangy sauce that formed underneath, and the cranberries made it so pretty. Many reviewers have suggested making more of the topping, but I disagree; the fruit is the main event here, and I thought the proportions were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
The basis of this recipe is great however I modified a few things just as a matter of convenience. I used two cans of canned apples and one bag of cranberries (same area you would find raisins in at grocery store). instead of fresh. Due to the sugar already in the canned apples I omitted the white sugar from the recipe. I also used sliced almonds instead of pecans. This was a wonderful quick dessert that everyone loved. I served with cool whip. Would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicious! A beautiful blend of sweet and tangy. I was a little short of two pounds on my apples so I added some extra cranberries, though I didn't feel I needed to worry about the extra tartness since I was using sweet red apples instead of Granny Smiths. Next time I will double the topping because it's sooo good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Loved this! But I had to bake it in a larger dish. When I tried to fit it in a pan of the specified size, the apple mixture wouldn't fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I made this for company one night and they told me it was the best crisp they've ever had! The fresh cranberries made this recipe. I cut the cinnamon down by half to 1 1/2 tsp and that was plenty. I only had a handful of sliced almonds so I threw them in the topping instead of pecans. Will definitely make again... also made it with spartan apples and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States